Indian Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I served this hot. I sauteed the veggies (fresh) with salt, pepper & curry powder, then added the cooked rice, then stired in reduced fat sour cream and a squeeze of lemon. Left out the fruit. I enjoyed this very much. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this for my husband who is Indian....I'm American & we are living in Bombay right now...he didn't find it that great...I wasn't able to find heavy cream so I had to make my own to use...I'm not too sure if this was the cause of it not tasting great...I'd like to think not...I also used basmati rice & I ended up adding some chili powder for spice...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
The apples did not work at all in this dish. I had to douse it with hoisin sauce to get it down. I did use tart apples, but even with sweet apples I don't see this working
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Asparagus with raisins, curry powder, and apples...i'm normally the type that likes tons of flavor in my food but this is not an appealing combination at all. And I am not sure how this is Indian other than the curry powder. I gave points for attractive presentation and healthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Very good overall! A couple changes: I left out the bell pepper, used fresh asparagus as others recommended, and used a mix of brown rice, black rice, and barley that I had on hand. Only downside was my fault: I served a gluten-free guest, and didn't realize the barley I added had gluten! Oops! I served it as a side to Masala Spiced Roast Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I don't know if I did something wrong, but this was bland and the flavors that were present did not mesh wellI used fresh asparagus in lieu of canned and also forgot raisins, but I think I followed all the other directions. Glad to see others had better success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I wasn't too impressed with this recipe and neither were the other party guests. I don't know what I did wrong, but it was pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
So good, but I did double the dressing as the taste was too mild for us otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Delicious! I did use fresh asparagus, however, steamed them until crisp/tender. And used jasmine rice to be a bit more authentic. After tasting it decided it needed more 'crunch', so I sprinkled some chopped walnuts on top...probably not so authentic, but fabulous none the less! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Delicious & easy!!! I used basmati & jasmine rice because I don't like brown rice(oh how I wish I did). Absolutely wonderful, perfeclty proportioned flavor but next time I'll definitely switch to fresh asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Thai Bison Salad

Learn how to make a fresh, healthy Thai salad with grilled low-fat bison steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States