Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Like several others, I used saffron threads instead of powder. I steeped the saffron in 1/2c room temp. white wine. I used chicken bullion (veg. stock would also be a good substitute) for the remaining 1 1/2c liquid. Both these additions added a good amount of flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe. I also used saffron threads instead of the powder. I like to add white wine and use chicken broth instead of the water. I use this recipe and make risotto because my family loves it that way. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I had to use spanish saffron threads (it was all I could find) but this still turned out really well for us. My husband vastly prefers it over the storebought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe. I topped each serving with a light sprinkle of cinnamon and toasted pine nuts as they do in a local restaurant. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This rice was good. The water being hot when added to the rice really did make all the difference. I put a slice of onion, some coriander, dash of cayenne in to steep with the saffron. Next time I'll put even more spices and onion in, maybe a little lemon juice for zip. I'll make this often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Yummy and easy! I 4x this recipe for a Girl Scout event that featured foods from around the world. I was amazed how many girls were asking for seconds or even thirds! I just made this again for my family, and it pairs up wonderfully with the Curry-Coconut Shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Good dish. I added a dash of cardamom, a sprinkle more of salt and a tiny bit of ground ginger. Served with a coconut curry and chai tea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Goes wonderfully with curry-coconut shrimp. Won't be able to do one without the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Great recipe!! However, I used chicken broth instead of the water, and it turned out excellent. The saffron rice went great with the Marakesh Vegetable Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
rice turned out perfectly fluffy and a gorgeous color! I used spanish saffron threads, and crushed them in a mortar/pestle to make the required amount. I made this recipe twice for the marrakesh vegetable curry on this website. The second time i made it, i halved the butter for less fat and think it was better the second time around, less greasy/buttery. I also used unsalted butter. If you love buttery rice though, do use the amount listed! Very good recipes, will definitely make again and use the technique for other grains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States