Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
This is a great little recipe! Easy and produces beautiful rice. I used saffron threads and brown jasmine rice- just cooked for about 35-40 minutes. It has a mild flavor and goes great with Indian food. Great to have in my recipe box. I forgot to add the salt- would probably do 1/2 tsp. or less if I did put it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Like several others, I used saffron threads instead of powder. I steeped the saffron in 1/2c room temp. white wine. I used chicken bullion (veg. stock would also be a good substitute) for the remaining 1 1/2c liquid. Both these additions added a good amount of flavor to the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
I love this recipe. I also used saffron threads instead of the powder. I like to add white wine and use chicken broth instead of the water. I use this recipe and make risotto because my family loves it that way. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
I had to use spanish saffron threads (it was all I could find) but this still turned out really well for us. My husband vastly prefers it over the storebought kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
Excellent recipe. I topped each serving with a light sprinkle of cinnamon and toasted pine nuts as they do in a local restaurant. Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This rice was good. The water being hot when added to the rice really did make all the difference. I put a slice of onion, some coriander, dash of cayenne in to steep with the saffron. Next time I'll put even more spices and onion in, maybe a little lemon juice for zip. I'll make this often. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2006
Yummy and easy! I 4x this recipe for a Girl Scout event that featured foods from around the world. I was amazed how many girls were asking for seconds or even thirds! I just made this again for my family, and it pairs up wonderfully with the Curry-Coconut Shrimp
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Good dish. I added a dash of cardamom, a sprinkle more of salt and a tiny bit of ground ginger. Served with a coconut curry and chai tea. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Goes wonderfully with curry-coconut shrimp. Won't be able to do one without the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Great recipe!! However, I used chicken broth instead of the water, and it turned out excellent. The saffron rice went great with the Marakesh Vegetable Curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States