Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Good recipe, but unnecessarily complicated. The saffron does not need to be steeped separately, nor does the water have to be boiling in order to turn out perfectly cooked and fluffy rice. I used saffron threads to taste, and chicken broth rather than water. This is a perfect, pretty and understated rice side dish to complement spicier meats or main dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I used four or five threads of saffron instead of powder. The taste was delicious and I will definitely make this recipe again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Very good recipe. I used 1/2c boiling water to steep the saffron and 1 1/2c chicken broth for the remainder of the liquid. The taste was very nice though having never before had saffron I have nothing to compare it to. This was an easy recipe which I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCosmeticQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
Wonderful! I added a 1/2 cup of frozen peas for color. My family loved it! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Salas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was the first time I had used saffron in a recipe. I did change the ingredients i must admit. I added chicken oxo to the rice, and also mushrooms while it cooked. I think otherwise it would have been a bit bland. Very good witht he additions, and i will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was perfect Saffron rice. I made it for a dinner party with Persian Kabobbs and everyone wanted seconds. I'm saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I used Basmati rice, replaced the water with chicken stock and added a cinnamon stick. I first heated about a 1/4 cup of stock with the saffron in the microwave for about 2 mins. Let it set for about 5 mins. Added everything to my rice cooker and let stand on "warm" for about 1/2 hour. This allowed the flavors to really settle in before turning on to cook. Rice came out bright and colorful. At the end added some frozen peas/carrots that had been defrosted in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is the most buttery delicious rice! No wonder saffron is priced right up there with gold...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe, which I will definitely make again! Both my husband and 4-year-old enjoyed it (the latter was exceptionally excited at the notion of eating "yellow" rice). I followed the recipe precisely with three exceptions: 1) I used Spanish saffron threads (it was all I had on hand); 2) I substituted 1/2 cup white wine for 1/2 cup of the water (per another reviewer's suggestion); and 3) I cooked it in a saucepan with lid as opposed to a skillet (my only lidded skillet was far too large for this recipe, and I was afraid it would burn). I think that next time I might saute a large chopped onion in the butter along with rice/salt for added texture and flavor. All in all, it is a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee Bergquist

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States