Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This dish was really wonderful. I took the advise of some of the other reviewers and steeped the saffron threads in white wine then used chicken stock for the rest of the liquid and my husband and I really loved it. We decided that if you added some fresh keilbasa or pork (something that would let off a little fat) it could be a savory main dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Lucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Excellent flavor. Is saffron really that expensive? I bought Saffron flower and it works just as well. Very tasty rice. Good with cucumber yogurt and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I thought this was really good, but I will only make it till the saffron runs out, then I would probably make plain white rice and save on the cost of buying saffron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASU_DEVIL_WPCAREY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
SO GOOD! This recipe for saffron rice really does melt in your mouth. I didn't bother boiling the saffron or the water. I just toasted the rice (I used basmati) and used chicken broth instead of water and added saffron threads before covering. Turned out perfect! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I'm not sure if it was my saffron or what, but this came out completely bland :( Perhaps I'll try again sometime with a different saffron. thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Was good but not so great that I would want to do it all the time. I followed the advice from other readers and used chicken broth instead of water to cook the rice. Note that my rice was done in 15 min... I left it in the pan 20 min and it started to stick and became crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I wasn't impressed with the flavor. It was lacking something, however I can't figure out what. I might attempt it again, but I doubt it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Photo by WILLANDJENN2004
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Very tasty *made with Veggie broth in lieu of water and brought to a boil with my saffron. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLANDJENN2004

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
loved it, listened to other raters and used chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
For some reason, I've never been able to make rice. The consistency is always too watery or too smushy. I followed this recipe to a "T" and FINALLY I made rice that was palatable. This recipe will now be my go-to rice recipe, although it's a little on the bland side. It's a good overall recipe for saffron rice. Definitely a keeper for those of us who are rice-challenged. My husband asked for seconds! (very rare...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States