Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Used threads instead of ground, but otherwise stayed true to it, and served it with chicken curry. It turned ordinary rice extraordinary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I'm addicted to this stuff! It's great as written but to really elevate the flavor I've tweaked my version with some of the other reviewers suggestions. I boil two cups of chicken stock in the micro with a 1/2 tsp of saffron threads, about a 1/8 tsp of ground turmeric and a splash of vinegar. I use jasmine rice instead of plain rice. To make it a meal I've added an extra ingredient; onion, diced bbq pork, diced grilled chicken, cashews. Seriously awesome recipe!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This was tasty. I used threads of saffron instead of powdered. Subbed veggie stock for the water. It came out delicious. I could have used a few extra strands of saffron but I was unsure how many to use, think I used 3. The cooking directions are really great. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Pretty good rice, and the directions are perfect for perfectly cooked, fluffy rice. My only complaint is that it wasn't as flavorful as I'd have liked--I didn't taste much of the saffron. I used saffron threads and didn't steep long enough, I think, and next time I'll use chicken broth instead of water. Otherwise, this makes perfectly excellent rice. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
I used brown rice and added a 1/4 cup more water. I also used Spanish Saffron and doubled the quantity to 1/4 tsp since the author's notations state that this is based on the "richer" Indian saffron. The cooking time is 10-15 minutes longer with the brown rice. If you are using salted butter you can decrease the salt to 1/2 tsp. - This is yummy and simple. I wish I made twice as much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlady
Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'll have to try this one again. followed the recipe, though i used spanish saffron threads which i crushed and brown basmati rice. Next time I'll use more saffron and perhaps no salt or very little. It sort of reminded me more of buttered popcorn than indian rice. :) I even think it would be fun to make it more of a casserole, use the same recipe but put it in a baking dish, add chicken pieces to it, cover and bake for 45ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this dish over the weekend and I must say it was wonderful even though I'm not much of a rice eater. I thought I'd splurge and buy some saffron and I'm glad I found this recipe. Leeflea51 Dear Cooking for Dummies, as stated I made this and it was great. When I tried to save it, it appears on my screen as if I had submitted it and I don't know how to get it off and give proper attribution. I've contacted support for their help. I just don't want you to think I usurped your wonderful recipe. Leeflea51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaflea51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okolona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe will become a frequent one in our house. It was very simple & quick, but added that "mom cooked for hours" feel. Even my picky 6 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make, however, it was very bland. The saffron rice I have had in the past was very flavorful. I'll will have to keep looking for my saffron rice! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States