Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This was the first time I had used saffron in a recipe. I did change the ingredients i must admit. I added chicken oxo to the rice, and also mushrooms while it cooked. I think otherwise it would have been a bit bland. Very good witht he additions, and i will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
This was perfect Saffron rice. I made it for a dinner party with Persian Kabobbs and everyone wanted seconds. I'm saving this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I used Basmati rice, replaced the water with chicken stock and added a cinnamon stick. I first heated about a 1/4 cup of stock with the saffron in the microwave for about 2 mins. Let it set for about 5 mins. Added everything to my rice cooker and let stand on "warm" for about 1/2 hour. This allowed the flavors to really settle in before turning on to cook. Rice came out bright and colorful. At the end added some frozen peas/carrots that had been defrosted in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This is the most buttery delicious rice! No wonder saffron is priced right up there with gold...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j.e.dore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Healdsburg, California, USA
Living In: Coronado, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was a great recipe, which I will definitely make again! Both my husband and 4-year-old enjoyed it (the latter was exceptionally excited at the notion of eating "yellow" rice). I followed the recipe precisely with three exceptions: 1) I used Spanish saffron threads (it was all I had on hand); 2) I substituted 1/2 cup white wine for 1/2 cup of the water (per another reviewer's suggestion); and 3) I cooked it in a saucepan with lid as opposed to a skillet (my only lidded skillet was far too large for this recipe, and I was afraid it would burn). I think that next time I might saute a large chopped onion in the butter along with rice/salt for added texture and flavor. All in all, it is a nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
I'm used to my rice having a more intense flavour, but I have to say that this recipe was wonderful. I did add a sprinkle each of pepper, paprika, garlic and onion powder. Also I added slightly more saffron but overall it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
great rice, the only thing i did different was i cooked it in my small rice cooker using it's rice and water measure. I served this with the tarragon lovers scallops and snow peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
A great easy recipe but WAY too much salt. Highly recommend reducing the salt to at least 1/2tsp. You can always add more salt later if waned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This rice was fabulous! I paired it with the Greek Lamb Kabobs and it was a hit. The trick is to cook it in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This rice was beautiful and tasty. Used a tea strainer since I only had saffron strands. Took a coffee filter and cut a square out and wrapped the saffron in it, then put it in the strainer and in the water. Came out rich and yellow. Served with Tandoori Chicken from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmalltownJar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conway, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States