Indian Saffron Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
I'll have to try this one again. followed the recipe, though i used spanish saffron threads which i crushed and brown basmati rice. Next time I'll use more saffron and perhaps no salt or very little. It sort of reminded me more of buttered popcorn than indian rice. :) I even think it would be fun to make it more of a casserole, use the same recipe but put it in a baking dish, add chicken pieces to it, cover and bake for 45ish minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made this dish over the weekend and I must say it was wonderful even though I'm not much of a rice eater. I thought I'd splurge and buy some saffron and I'm glad I found this recipe. Leeflea51 Dear Cooking for Dummies, as stated I made this and it was great. When I tried to save it, it appears on my screen as if I had submitted it and I don't know how to get it off and give proper attribution. I've contacted support for their help. I just don't want you to think I usurped your wonderful recipe. Leeflea51
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaflea51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okolona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
This recipe will become a frequent one in our house. It was very simple & quick, but added that "mom cooked for hours" feel. Even my picky 6 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe was very easy to make, however, it was very bland. The saffron rice I have had in the past was very flavorful. I'll will have to keep looking for my saffron rice! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe. The only changes I made were to use jasmine rice, 1/4 tsp saffron threads & add two chicken bouillon cubes dissolved in the hot water instead of adding the salt. Neither my husband nor I had ever tasted the amazing subtle flavor of real saffron before. Thanks for posting this recipe and for all the great comments by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I had been wanting to try Saffron Rice forever and found this recipe after I received a Bonus Saffron in a spice order. Good but not fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Hurricane, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I skipped all the boiling water etc. I used my rice cooker and put the saffron in with chicken broth (instead of water), butter, salt, & Kasmati Basmati rice. I soaked it all for 20 minutes before turning on the rice cooker. It was wonderful! I paired it with Curried Honey Mustard Chicken and Parmesan Asparagus from this site. My kids (young adults) loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
It was okay; didn't get the saffron flavor that I love in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrisbhs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
You really need to use basmati rice to get that wonderful flavor. Try that!! I used your recipe as you have it written only I used the basmati and soaked saffron in hot water first and it tastes just like the restaurant. Oh! and I put it all in my rice cooker and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Made with brown rice and chicken broth instead of water. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States