Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Surprisingly easy to make something that seems pretty authentic--and tasty! Used leftovers of this dish later with ham and stirred into fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Something wasn't quite right with this recipe. It was just okay - maybe too much salt, or too much cumin, but I don't know. Too much of something, even though I added quite a bit of water to keep the greens moist. I was wondering what kind of green chile pepper to use - I used an Anaheim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh yum! I made this tonight with 1 big bunch of kale and 1 big bunch of chard (11 oz total). Honestly, I didn't measure the spices very carefully ! I used way more cumin seeds by accident. I have a favorite premade (in a can) saag I really like, but this is better! I always thought this would be a difficult dish to make, so always bought the cans, but it is not. I am so glad I found this recipe. I love greens, but sometimes we get so much in our weekly organic basket that I need other recipes to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! I wasn't sure what to expect; had never tried this before, but I bought some mustard greens and bok choy and didn't know what to do with them! It's fun to discover great new flavors by accident. Thanks for a lovely recipe; I would def make again (and highly recommend serving with the Greek yogurt). Also, one could add stir-fried meat and beans like chick peas for a one-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I didnt have the mustard greens but it turned out great without that. I also added sliced mushrooms at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I used about 1/3 mustard greens and the rest spinach - still too bitter for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Pretty good as far as mustard greens go. My husband really enjoyed it too, which was surprising for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthro
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was great, my husband (the picky one) really enjoyed this with rice, daal and raita (yogurt sauce) so it made for a good meal for vegetarian monday. I did change some things, I used frozen chopped spinach and frozen chopped mustard green because thats all I had on had and it still tasted and cooked really well. I didn't seed the chile pepper just added it seeds and all to give it some heat. Garnished with chopped tomatoes and red chillies to make color pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This turned out great! I added onions and tomatoes as did others. I also used 1 part spinach, 1 part mustard leaves, and 1 part chard due to comments about using more spinach. I also used tofu which was very paneer-like, but much healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I made this with some greens we received for free (don"t know what kind they were) and spinach. Also I cooked bite-sized chicken breast pieces in olive oil and Garam Masala ahead of time and added it in the last ten minutes of cooking. Everyone in my family loved this dish! Rarely do six people in our family agree on recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States