Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great recipe! One alteration I made on the advice of a local Indian restaurant was to mix 2 tablespoons of cornstarch and 3 tablespoons of water and add this mixture and stir well once the greens have wilted. Then cover and cook for the remaining ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefPat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Good, but I think i might just use 2 lbs of spinach next time. I think the mustard greens made it more bitter than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonnie Doty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
YUM! this is a great saag recipe! It came out great! I used 1lb Spinach, 1/2 lb rainbow chard and 1/2 lb collard greens. This dish stole the show for our Indian Food night. Everyone loved it! I was surprised how much the greens cooked down. I was sure there'd be leftovers but it was all devoured! Thanks for the great recipe -I'll be making this again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaylie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This saag turned out great. Saag paneer is my favorite dish in Indian restaurants, and this version didn't dissapoint. I used swiss chard that I had in my freezer from my garden this past summer, and some spinach. I made homemade paneer and I also stirred in some plain yogurt at the end for a creamier texture. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I questioned myself every step of the way as I made this, but it turned out phenomenal. I served it over basmati rice with tandoori chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Wonderful recipe! I love saag and this recipe is great with a little bit of greek yogurt mixed in, if you're in a hurry, or some home made paneer! When in a hurry, I just use frozen mustard greens and frozen spinach and it's done and ready to eat in about 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Boller

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I used this recipe and included potatoes, tomatoes, and onions. It was wonderful! The saag has a good spice balance. and was very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
I made paneer from scratch using the recipe from this site and the dish tasted wonderful :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiechef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Pretty good as far as mustard greens go. My husband really enjoyed it too, which was surprising for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anthro
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was great, my husband (the picky one) really enjoyed this with rice, daal and raita (yogurt sauce) so it made for a good meal for vegetarian monday. I did change some things, I used frozen chopped spinach and frozen chopped mustard green because thats all I had on had and it still tasted and cooked really well. I didn't seed the chile pepper just added it seeds and all to give it some heat. Garnished with chopped tomatoes and red chillies to make color pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anthro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States