Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Howard
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Ok this is the second time I have made this recipe, after making it exactly as called for the first time I changed it up a bit. I used 1.5 lbs of spinach and only a .5 lb of the Mustards greens. I also added 1 Tbls of Cornstarch and three Tbls of water. The Saag came out great and was the consistency we liked. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, New York, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Great recipe. I wasn't sure about the peas but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Great flavor, but too salty for our family. We will definitely make this agin, but will cut down the salt to 1/2 a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Ugh- I am so sorry but I have to say this was terribly disgusting to myself & my husband. It was strongly flavored & overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
Surprisingly easy to make something that seems pretty authentic--and tasty! Used leftovers of this dish later with ham and stirred into fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Something wasn't quite right with this recipe. It was just okay - maybe too much salt, or too much cumin, but I don't know. Too much of something, even though I added quite a bit of water to keep the greens moist. I was wondering what kind of green chile pepper to use - I used an Anaheim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Oh yum! I made this tonight with 1 big bunch of kale and 1 big bunch of chard (11 oz total). Honestly, I didn't measure the spices very carefully ! I used way more cumin seeds by accident. I have a favorite premade (in a can) saag I really like, but this is better! I always thought this would be a difficult dish to make, so always bought the cans, but it is not. I am so glad I found this recipe. I love greens, but sometimes we get so much in our weekly organic basket that I need other recipes to use them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe! I wasn't sure what to expect; had never tried this before, but I bought some mustard greens and bok choy and didn't know what to do with them! It's fun to discover great new flavors by accident. Thanks for a lovely recipe; I would def make again (and highly recommend serving with the Greek yogurt). Also, one could add stir-fried meat and beans like chick peas for a one-dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I didnt have the mustard greens but it turned out great without that. I also added sliced mushrooms at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
I used about 1/3 mustard greens and the rest spinach - still too bitter for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States