Indian Saag Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
Yummy! We love greens, so we love this. I add a little fenugreek sometimes and red pepper flakes. I've never used cumin seeds and it's still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Akbari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
This was inedible. As in, we threw it out without eating it. Waaaaay too bitter. And I didn't do something wacky here--I followed the recipe. I'd be willing to try this again with basically zero mustard greens or turmeric, but as is, yuck. What a waste of food and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. It is a far cry from the Saag you would get in an Indian recipe and I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This is the best Saag recipe I've found and I've been looking for a long time. Easy, tasty and authentic thanks to the flavour of the mustard greens. To the reader who found it too bitter, add 1/2 tsp of sugar. I add some 'homemade' buttermilk (lemon juice and milk) thickened with some cornstarch to get the creaminess I like. Accommodates paneer or chicken very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Great flavors, a little too salty. Will use unsalted butter or cut the salt in half or less next time. We used all kale and it was good but might add more water and simmer it for longer. Used almost 2 cups of water as it was, simmered maybe 15 minutes at high altitude. Also put all the spices in the oil at the beginning as most other Indian recipes we've seen do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This would have been much better if I had cut out all of the salt. As is, there was entirely too much salt in this recipe. Otherwise it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this for a side dish tonight. It was delicious! I used kale for the greens. The kale held up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rebesheka
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was really tastey!! I was a little skeptical when I was making it whether I would like it or not. But it was really good. I had to add some chicken because it just didn't seem like a meal without protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebesheka

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
YUM! This is the most perfect Saag recipe I have ever tried. I substituded a full head of kale for 3/4 of the spinach, simmered it for an extra 10 minutes to break down the kale. It was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Almost as good as our local gourmet Indian restaurant, which is one of the best rated in the DC area. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

How to Make Saag Paneer

See how to make authentic Indian creamed spinach.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States