Indian Rice (Pulao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
This recipe got RAVE reviews from my middle eastern husband. After dinner he was eating it directly from the pot. It's the real thing for sure. I didn't have shortening so I used butter and a touch of olive oil. I was really unsure about the cloth bit but I just tried it with a doubled tea towl under the lid. I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
This was a good recipe. We did not know exactly what to expect but thought it was slightly bland but otherwise had a great texture. I served it with garbanzos and chicken curry and it was wonderful. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajhk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
very good and authentic. I used basmati rice, wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I laughed at the comment from the woman whose husband ate from the pot after dinner, but low and behold, I caught my husband doing the same thing later that night!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle in DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
The rice was good, but a little bland. Unfortunately, I didn't have any cardamon pods, so that didn't help at all. I halved the recipe, but next time I'll just halve the rice and water and keep the extra spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Finally an awesome Indian rice recipe! It was absolutely awesome! My husband also loved it and I'm keeping this recipe handy! I used the saffron AND the ground turmeric (the turmeric was put in with the other spices). I also added a chicken bullion cube to the spices and it turned out awesome!!!! It was good enough to eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci's Kitchen
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
It wasn't bad, but wasn't as good as I'd hoped!.. Lots of effort! Makes a lot too! Luckily I also made plain steamed rice and it was better with my main course. Cooks up somewhat dry, probably because the towel soaks up extra steam in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
Excellent served with Indian Chicken Curry II. I used basmati rice instead of white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJANAY44

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
The towel on the top threw me off and I overcooked the rice. Check before the 20 minutes. Like the other reviewer I felt it was a little bland or missing something. Itlooked gorgeous as it was sauteing and the aroma was wonderful-but that first bite let me down. Perhaps I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
this turned out to be deliciousssssssssssssssss...dont do it without the cloth...u can use damp tissues instead!!! eat it along with chicken curry or any other indian curry preparation !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian-Style Rice

See how to make a fragrant, colorful basmati rice side dish.

Indian-Style Basmati Rice

This savory Indian rice is flavored with whole spices and sautéed onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States