Indian Rice Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Excellent. I did not change a thing and my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This is good stuff! Great with curries and any other dishes, really!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was very good and I will make it again. I substituted scallions for the onion, cayenne for paprika to add some heat which it needed in my opinion, and added golden raisins the last five minutes of cooking for a little tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Flavor is delicious, but I did substitute bouillion/water and added salt to the water to be boiled. I paired with Easy Indian Butter Chicken here and rated that recipe too. This recipe made sticky rice, not finely separated Indian rice we're used to in restaurants. Next time I will toast rice in some butter or oil and boil bouillion salt water separately to add to it and see if that solves the sticky rice outcome. Serving size was right on. My four kids under 10 asked for leftovers in their lunches so I had to forgo my own leftover hopes. Next time I will double the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
This was pretty good, though I had expected something amazing. My kids ate it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
we made it exactly as listed in instruction and is was very bland. It needed some kick so we added cayenne pepper to it while we were eating at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I used brown rice instead of white to add more nutrition and it turned out tasty still. It's a nice change from ordinary pilaf or boiled rice- smells delicious when cooking and it's the perfecy comfort food on chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Really easy and very delicious rice! I served it with Bobotie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Sarah's Rice Pilaf

Orzo pasta and rice are cooked with butter, onion, garlic, and broth.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States