Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2001
I was looking for a cornmeal mush recipe when I came across this recipe. I did some things a little differently but kept it basically the same. It is a great old fashioned recipe perfect for the coming fall months. If you have a wood stove, then cook this on top and slowly cook it while your house fills with the delicious smells of sweet cornmeal pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Overall a nice, easy recipe. I liked the taste, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
This has a BOLD flavor to it. It doesn't taste anything like your bland, sugary store bought desserts. If you want a treat with great old fashioned taste to it, this is for you! Serve it up warm with some good vanilla ice cream or whipped cream oozing over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica53214

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: West Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Thank you for sharing such a delicious recipe! I had had this dessert at a restaurant many years ago, and during an outing yesterday to see fall foliage, I thought of it and searched this Website for a recipe. This one seemed to be the best and I apparently chose well, as it was delicous!!!! I did not change a thing. A great New England treat!! Served it with vanilla ice cream. Yummy!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
The molasses flavor is too strong for folks who aren't used to it. Meanwhile, because the corn meal is cooked along with all of the milk rather than having some cold milk stirred in the end, the result is a single, thick layer. Traditionally, at least in the New England family I grew up in, Indian Pudding should have two layers, a thick layer with cornmeal at the bottom and a lighter, milk-only layer on top. It also needs raisins, preferably soaked in whiskey or rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I really didn't think I would like this, but I had this cornmeal to use up and gave it a try. Go ahead try it, it is very good and perfect for the fall. Excellent with whipping cream or cinnamon flavored ice cream. I did add about 1/2 to 1 tsp. of ginger to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Having never tried Indian Pudding before, I sought out a recipe so I could indulge my curiosity. This turned out to be a very pleasant surprise. I made it exactly as the recipe called for, & the taste was reminiscent of pumpkin pie. My suggestion for the recipe directions would be to explain a little more thoroughly about the double boiler, because I was not very familiar with it before this. Also, the recipe says to use a 1 1/2 quart baking dish, but when I poured the pudding into the dish, it filled it to the brim, & while in the oven overflowed. Otherwise this was very good, especially with some vanilla ice cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was very good and much easier than the other Indian pudding recipes we have found in the past. However the molasses flavor is very strong and the children in our family did not enjoy it. As a suggestion in this case if you decide to make it for your family try going from only Molasses to 1/8 cup molasses and 3/8 cup honey. Also try adding some rum-soaked raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missivy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Just what I was looking for! I had this in a restaurant in Chatham on Cape Cod, and hoped to repeat the flavor I craved... thanks so much! For anyone else who may try it: I didn't have a double boiler, and so did it in a sauce pot with a thick bottom, over gas heat (easy to control!) My cook time on the stove was closer to 15 minutes as a result, and 1.5 hours in the oven as directed. As everyone else says, serve warm with a really good vanilla ice cream or fresh whipped cream. Awesome with a steaming cup of coffee alongside... I will add raisins next time - just a personal preference. TERRIFIC RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA
Living In: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I altered the recipe to use Bob's Red Mill Gluten-Free Hot N Tasty cereal instead of cornmeal, and made it on the stove-top. When it was almost done, I tasted it and decided I needed to up the flavorings as it was really lacking. Perhaps I should have used brown sugar and not white. I also added rum-soaked raisins; definitely needed raisins, rum or not. Topped it off with a fresh splash of milk. Add the 4th star with the improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States