Indian Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This recipe is good stuff. But I want to warn those unfamiliar with curry- make sure you're using a decent curry powder, or your porkchops will be sub-par. I made this twice with different curry powders, and the difference was night and day. The "national brand" of curry powder you'll find in a regular grocery store made this taste like celery seed and did NOT compliment the other flavors. It's worth the extra legwork and money to find a good, authentic curry. When I used "real" curry powder, this recipe was stellar! Had trouble finding a dish to go with it, though, would like to hear others' meal ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeffNie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bend, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Loved this recipe! I used apricot preserves instead of nectar, olive oil and a bit a tumeric. So good! It was so fast, and I had all the ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
This dish was very easy to make. The pork was very tender and tasted as though alot more time and effort went into making it. The recipe calls for 1 CUP of oil which seems VERY odd... I only used about 1T so that I could saute the pork first. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Not bad. I used a tablespoon of Patak hot curry paste from a jar and real garlic. Very oddly named recipe, considering pork is rarely eaten in India (and never with off-the-shelf curry or garlic powder).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Deliciously tangy, and ridiculously easy recipe. I might double the sauce next time so I have more to drizzle on top of some jasmine rice. I would also try this delicious sauce on top of lightly breaded pan-fried chicken breasts. A lovely dish. Thank you! I just remade it using apricot nectar as directed (I must have just used apricot preserves last time), and I must say I liked it MUCH better with the preserves instead. The nectar flattened the flavor out. Nevertheless, I did double the sauce so I had enough, which I drizzled over jasmine rice boiled in apple juice instead of water, with a crushed cashew garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Made this last night because I had pork chops on hand and wanted to make something to compliment the Indian rice dish I was making. Very tasty, sweet and easy! This was a nice fragrant sauce and would go well with chicken too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNBUZZPLUM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
This reminds me of a dish my mom used to make with cornish hens. Her recipe included cooked bacon and sauteed onions, which gives the sauce much more flavor. When I made this, I also included onions and bacon and doubled the apricot sauce. I dipped the pork chops into seasoned flour prior to browning, then, per the recipe, cooked them in the apricot sauce. I served them with parslied rice and spooned the extra sauce over it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
I marinated in the sauce and still had little flavor for me. I did use a good curry powder, just was bland tasting outside of the little bit of heat from the curry. I agree the sauce was good tasting, just didn't seem to make it's way into the chops. Thanks anyway for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This was so easy and good. I served this with Basmati rice and used apricot preserves instead. I have made it again and doubled the sausce to have enough to put on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLE01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
Easy and a VERY tasty sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States