Indian Peanut Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2005
This was good, very interesting combination of flavors. The salmon color and the sticky consistency of it detracted from it for me, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Enjoyed trying this one out, with just a few minor variations for personal preference. 1. reduced peanut butter to 1/3 cup max. 2. added a handful of cashew chunks 3. added salt to taste 4. added hot chilie powder to taste 5. used freshly stewed rather than canned tomatoes (4 extra large) This sauce is excellent over a bed of plain stewed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I never thought I could make Indian food this good at home! I used white rice instead of brown. Next time I might add peas or chick peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
This stew is surprisingly quick and easy to cook. It will impress your family and friends if they love Indian food, because it tastes so complex and captures just the right flavors and fragrances of good Indian cuisine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I couldn't really taste too much peanut flavor in mine, but probably because the other things overpowered it. It's still tasty though. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
I cooked rice according to package directions, and also added garbanzo beans as other users recommended. The stew came out nicely, and like others, I also had everything for it in the pantry. Unfortunately, it was about 90 degrees out the day I had this planned for supper, so we didn't enjoy it as much as we would have if it were winter. I found this to be a great budget meal though, and will definitely be saving this recipe for the cold winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
This was a hit in our house. The tomato and peanut butter make such an interesting flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
It was okay. If I make it again I will definitely halve the amount of peanut butter. Also would recommend adding more vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This was okay. It came out too thick for me and I ended up adding about 1 cup of water to thin it out. It just tasted very very peanut buttery. My husband and I agreed it was too heavy and seemed more like a side dish than a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
I thought this was really good, and surprisingly, my husband did too. Easy to make, and I had everything in my kitchen/pantry. I gave it a 4 because I reserve 5's for the very, very, very best. I will make this again. I LOVE this website!! Thanks! I'm editing my previous post and making this a 5 star rating. I really like grainy things. In particular, sometimes beans and rice is really great and very satisfying. This is very satisfying in the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States