Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This naan recipe was very tasty. However, I didn't think 2 cups of flour was enough. The dough was sticky and getting stuck to my fingers. As I was kneading the dough, I sprinkled more flour into the mixing bowl, until it was the right consistenty. This was my first time making naan, and I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesncream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This wound up being pretty flat. The taste was good, but it certainly did not remind me of Naan. I wonder if the 5 minutes kneading was too much or if it needed a second rising?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is the best make-at-home Naan recipie I've found (and I've been looking a long time). The two key ingredients that most other recipies are missing is the yogurt and the kalonji (onion seeds, check your local Indian grocery store). I can't stress the Kalonji enough. Without them it tastes much more generic, but the Kalonji give it that authentic indian taste. Also, I just add the kalonji to the dry ingredients before mixing. Adding them to the end is more trouble than it's worth To prepare, roll the dough balls between 2 silicone cooking mats, then drop into a medium hot (7.5 out of 10 on an electric range) cast-iron frying pan/griddle is the best way we've found to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Turned out very well for my first try making Naan. I substituted corn oil for ghee when I burnt the ghee trying to make it from butter.:( I also learned the thinner you roll it out the better, if you like a crispy crust, and soft inside like I do. I also minced up garlic and pressed it into the dough right before cooking instead of the onion seed. Two thumbs up! Very Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Wow! This was terrific! Who knew I could make naan! I heated oven for 1/2 hour to 450 deg., then turned on the broiler to "cook" the bread. Took just about 7-8 minutes per 3, using a pizza stone. Loved it. My son and his wife often eat in Indian restaurants in the Bay area and thought this was a superior naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Good. Didn't have kalonji so I added some onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've tried this recipe three times, and it has produced the softest naan I've eaten outside an Indian restaurant. The nigella seeds are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This did not turn out the way it's supposed to, or so I believe. It may be because I have little or no experience with homemade breads. I don't understand the cooking method---bake under a hot grill?? I tried to cook it on a skillet, which did not work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe was very easy and delicous. I used instant yeast since it doesn't need proofing and it made it EXTRA easy. The yogurt made the bread very soft and nice. Got several compliments. I've used it for breakfast....quesadillas....gyros....and for wraps. They're so versatile!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States