Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Easy to prepare. I used vegetable oil instead of ghee. I cooked on a grill pan on my stove. Served with Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sauk Village, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hobart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
I followed the recipe directions to a T but found the dough too loose. I would use 1/3 cup water instead of 2/3 cup and reduce the salt to 1/2 tea spoon. The oven temp. should be 500 degrees or higher and keep the tray high up, as if broiling. I think this recipe has some promise if a few changes are made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This naan recipe was very tasty. However, I didn't think 2 cups of flour was enough. The dough was sticky and getting stuck to my fingers. As I was kneading the dough, I sprinkled more flour into the mixing bowl, until it was the right consistenty. This was my first time making naan, and I was pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiesncream

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This wound up being pretty flat. The taste was good, but it certainly did not remind me of Naan. I wonder if the 5 minutes kneading was too much or if it needed a second rising?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
This is the best make-at-home Naan recipie I've found (and I've been looking a long time). The two key ingredients that most other recipies are missing is the yogurt and the kalonji (onion seeds, check your local Indian grocery store). I can't stress the Kalonji enough. Without them it tastes much more generic, but the Kalonji give it that authentic indian taste. Also, I just add the kalonji to the dry ingredients before mixing. Adding them to the end is more trouble than it's worth To prepare, roll the dough balls between 2 silicone cooking mats, then drop into a medium hot (7.5 out of 10 on an electric range) cast-iron frying pan/griddle is the best way we've found to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Turned out very well for my first try making Naan. I substituted corn oil for ghee when I burnt the ghee trying to make it from butter.:( I also learned the thinner you roll it out the better, if you like a crispy crust, and soft inside like I do. I also minced up garlic and pressed it into the dough right before cooking instead of the onion seed. Two thumbs up! Very Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Wow! This was terrific! Who knew I could make naan! I heated oven for 1/2 hour to 450 deg., then turned on the broiler to "cook" the bread. Took just about 7-8 minutes per 3, using a pizza stone. Loved it. My son and his wife often eat in Indian restaurants in the Bay area and thought this was a superior naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Good. Didn't have kalonji so I added some onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
These turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've tried this recipe three times, and it has produced the softest naan I've eaten outside an Indian restaurant. The nigella seeds are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States