Indian Naan II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
pretty good--I fried them in a pan and that was a lot easier than I expected...the only issue was it didn't make very much, and when I tried to stretch it out thinner it just condensed back together in the frying pan...I'd recommend doubling the recipe if you're cooking for more than 2 or 3 people
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Ghee can be made by just melting butter and removing the white stuff. This is the best substitute if you can't find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I adjusted this recipe for my breadmaker. I have a Sunbeam and it requires liquid ingredients in first, then dry, then the yeast on top. Instead of of water, I used 'whey' that I had drained off some yogurt when making my own homemade Greek yogurt. I take a carton of nonfat plain yogurt, line a mesh colander with a coffee filter, and let the yogurt drain overnight. It comes out super thick and there's a great liquid leftover that's marvelous in baking. So I used the whey as the liquid, made the ghee right when I was making this recipe so it was still warm and liquid, and added it in with the yogurt. Then I sifted all the dry ingredients except the yeast, added that last, and used the dough cycle to knead. I put it in a large bowl brushed with ghee to let it rise, then gave it a few kneads by hand, separated it into eight pieces and formed them into rectangles. I didn't use any garnish, next time I'll use the onion seed and probably sprinkle with tumeric as well as brush with more ghee. I baked them in a 400 degree oven for ten minutes and they rose like balloons. Next time I may double the recipe and get six from each batch instead of eight. Great compliment to the meal. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Very delicious. I used butter for ghee and cumin seeds for kalonji. I baked them in 450 degree preheated oven on the sprayed cookie sheets. Fantastic recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Great recipe. I did use my bread machine to make the dough. Proofed the yeast first of all, adding to the bread machine along with the ghee and yoghurt followed by the dry ingredients. I did find the dough very sticky when it came out of the machine, so needed lots more flour to be kneaded into it. Did not have the Kalonjo so used dried onions instead. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I used butter instead of ghee and next time will add onion powder because I couldn't find kalonji. I experimented with both cooking it in the oven and on the stove and had better luck with the oven. I heated the oven to 400F (make sure to preheat) and baked them for about 5 min on the middle rack. Before baking I brushed on some olive oil and fresh minced garlic. After baking I sprinkled on corse sea salt and a bit of cumin. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingCarlotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Not very good at all. Ive eaten alot of naan in my day. This was not one of my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Awesome! And way easier than I thought it would be, even though I had to make my own ghee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hotstuff4me
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I tired this a few days ago and it turned out beautiful. This recipe is a keeper for sure and I will be making this again and again and again! I have posted a picture of how my naans turned out. They were so soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Benicia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I've just recently gotten into Indian food so I'd been looking for a good naan recipe. I made this last night to go with my chana masala, and I wasn't disappointed. I didn't have any yogurt,so I had to use fat-free mayo,but they still turned out quite well. I would recommend this recipe to anyone searching for good naan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Otter Creek, Florida, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States