Indian Matar Paneer (Cottage Cheese and Peas) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I followed a lot of reviewers' suggestions and subbed in Amibould's paneer recipe for the one in this one, and it still didn't save this dish. The seasoning is off and the result was dry and bland. Not making this one again. On a positive note - the other paneer recipe was really good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Delicious! I added about 5 ounces of plain yogurt and a dash extra of garam masala for the spice and it had a nice sauce that went a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
I made paneer using a different recipe. I wanted something with more sauce so I added half of a small can of crushed tomatoes and increased the spices about 1 1/2 tsp each and added ground cumin and coriander. Omitted the chili pwd, just added a dash of cayenne. Didn't have corn or fresh coriander. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was not good. I have been cooking indian food for 20 yrs and this was way off. There was no sauce, and it needed more spice. And where is the salt? I had to save it. I quickly sauteed ginger and garlic in oil and stirred the mixture into it, add a finely chopped tomato. I added a 3/4 tsp of salt, more garam masala, 1/2 cup water, cooked for 10 minutes. Then added 1/2 cup of half and half and cooked for another few minutes on low. It was superb this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I've made the paneer twice, with friends, and it's so much fun. Seeing milk turn into cheese is very, very exciting. We've used raw milk from the farmers' market, and it's been the most gorgeous buttercream color. Part of the leftover whey can go into the sauce--it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used another paneer recipe, but used this curry recipe. While the flavor of the curry was good, the consistency of the curry was off. It turned out like seasoned mixed vegetables, instead of a saucy stewy curry. Will probably be looking for other curry recipes or try to improve upon this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Meowz
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Very tasty dish. I deep fried the cubed paneer as a friend from India said it would make it more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meowz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
This is a great dish once you get the hang of it. I had a hard time with the cheese (paneer)the first time I made it. You need to keep adding lemon juice until you can see huge curds seperate from the liquid. If you are unsure, you haven't added enough lemon juice. I doubled the amounts of all the spices, since it is a little bland otherwise, but overall this is a keeper recipe that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
WOW was this good - just a terrific recipe. Beware though that separating curds from the liquid is not easy and if you haven't done it before you should allow a little more time for that part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
I loved the curry in this recipe, but used the paneer recipe submitted by amibould instead. Using buttermilk instead of lemon juice is amazing!!! Use that paneer with this sauce, and you will love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States