Indian-Inspired Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
i made this today as an emergency dish after a mis-hap with some already cooked eggs. the slow warming spices are very nice; however, i did not like that there was no binder. that being said, i used a little mayo to bind. i would have used plain yougurt but didn't have any on hand. will serve with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I really wanted to love this because I love Indian food and sandwiches but as another reviewer said It was missing something. I left out the jalapenos (personal preference) but added some red pepper flakes instead. I added yogurt and mustard because I felt it needed some tang to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is excellent!! I had it in a pitta bread for lunch today and loved it. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you so much for giving me a new favourite sandwich filling :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Good, but I think I would use less jalepeno next time. It was a little much and tended to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
A nice variation on egg salad, but it's missing something... We served in pita pockets with roasted red pepper hummus spread, which really helped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
If you're looking for a taste variation of egg salad, this is a good recipe to try. I couldn't completely depart from the "traditional" egg salad sandwich though, as I served this on fresh bread with lettuce and mayo. I did really like the fact that the onions were sauteed a bit, as I don't care for raw onion in egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Sorry but this was awful. There are way too many conflicting flavors. Husband wouldn't touch it, and he'll eat anything. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I really liked this minus the cilantro. I love egg salad and this was just a little something different with a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very Indian. Nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
A great variation on the traditional egg salad! I made indian food last night and I was trying to find a way to use some of the spices I had purchased... this recipe fit the bill! I reccommend serving this on toasted pita bread with a sour cream spread. I may not make this often, but it's a lot of fun trying different things! I left out the jalapeno and added a little chili powder for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States