Indian-Inspired Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
A great variation on the traditional egg salad! I made indian food last night and I was trying to find a way to use some of the spices I had purchased... this recipe fit the bill! I reccommend serving this on toasted pita bread with a sour cream spread. I may not make this often, but it's a lot of fun trying different things! I left out the jalapeno and added a little chili powder for spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I really liked this minus the cilantro. I love egg salad and this was just a little something different with a bit of spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
If you're looking for a taste variation of egg salad, this is a good recipe to try. I couldn't completely depart from the "traditional" egg salad sandwich though, as I served this on fresh bread with lettuce and mayo. I did really like the fact that the onions were sauteed a bit, as I don't care for raw onion in egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Very Indian. Nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Sorry but this was awful. There are way too many conflicting flavors. Husband wouldn't touch it, and he'll eat anything. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
I really wanted to love this because I love Indian food and sandwiches but as another reviewer said It was missing something. I left out the jalapenos (personal preference) but added some red pepper flakes instead. I added yogurt and mustard because I felt it needed some tang to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This is excellent!! I had it in a pitta bread for lunch today and loved it. Wouldn't change a thing. Thank you so much for giving me a new favourite sandwich filling :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Good, but I think I would use less jalepeno next time. It was a little much and tended to overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth P

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
A nice variation on egg salad, but it's missing something... We served in pita pockets with roasted red pepper hummus spread, which really helped out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
i made this today as an emergency dish after a mis-hap with some already cooked eggs. the slow warming spices are very nice; however, i did not like that there was no binder. that being said, i used a little mayo to bind. i would have used plain yougurt but didn't have any on hand. will serve with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States