Indian Hot Curried Mangos with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Added onions and shredded carrots. Maybe some raisins too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Except for adding a red bell pepper for some crunch I followed the recipe exactly and I love all the ingrediants, but we found this to be really bitter. Maybe just my type of curry powder coupled with the amount, I don't know but I won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamhouse80
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
I really enjoy this dish but I add two extra mango when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This recipe is awesome with just a couple of tweaks: double the mangos sauté the tofu with the garlic and ginger (make sure to cut it small) and add a bit of cayenne. One of my favorite dishes to make, always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Try this with shrimp! It's quite delicious. Also, since this is entitled "Indian" I decided to make it more Indian in preparation by substituting the sesame oil with ghee and roasted the curry powder (home made) in the ghee before adding garlic, ginger and mango. This brings out the spice and flavor of the curry powder. I also added a sliced thai chili. This really brought the heat. Also I garnished the dish with the cilantro (and lime wedges) instead of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
The ingredients were promising, but the recipe turned out to be as bland as others said. Because of the prior comments, I tried marinating the tofu in the seasonings/spices with oil, then cooking it separately prior to adding the mango and coconut milk. I'm not sure what would have worked better. When I marinate tofu using soy sauce and spices/seasonings, then cook it, it comes out very flavorful. This didn't, and putting coconut milk over it seemed to wash out the flavor even more. Maybe this recipe can only be done well with meat/fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was sooo excited to try this. I like every ingredient in dish but i did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
needs more mangoes - perhaps a total of 2 or 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I'm always looking for good tofu recipes, and this one was a hit. It was very quick to make, and was delicious served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
It was difficult for me to balance the spices, but the mangos were delicious! I never would have thought to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States