Indian Hot Curried Mangos with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was okay. It was my first time making a curry dish. I like how the mangoes were incorporated in this dish and the contrasting tastes of the coconut milk and curry. However, it felt like something was missing. Needs more sodium, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I am so glad you guys like this recipe so much! It is good with just the tofu but you should really try shrimp or chicken as well. I like to just get the frozen shrimp in the bag. It's cheaper that way but it does take a little more time if you get the ones you have to peel. I think it's more than worth it! I have a few other recipes that have been submitted for a while now. I am hoping that they will eventually get published. Thanks again and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elegant Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This recipe is awesome with just a couple of tweaks: double the mangos sauté the tofu with the garlic and ginger (make sure to cut it small) and add a bit of cayenne. One of my favorite dishes to make, always a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
Try this with shrimp! It's quite delicious. Also, since this is entitled "Indian" I decided to make it more Indian in preparation by substituting the sesame oil with ghee and roasted the curry powder (home made) in the ghee before adding garlic, ginger and mango. This brings out the spice and flavor of the curry powder. I also added a sliced thai chili. This really brought the heat. Also I garnished the dish with the cilantro (and lime wedges) instead of cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I was sooo excited to try this. I like every ingredient in dish but i did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I first made this like 2 years ago and rated it like 4 or 5 stars... but today I made it and followed the recipe and it was totally bland and boring. I even added broccoli and red peppers. We had to add like 1 tsp of salt and it was still bland. I think my taste buds have changed over the years... but this was so totally not spicy at all - how can they call it "hot" in the recipe title and it's not even spicy?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
needs more mangoes - perhaps a total of 2 or 3
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I'm always looking for good tofu recipes, and this one was a hit. It was very quick to make, and was delicious served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I followed the recipe word for word , and I thought it was kind of bland. The second time I fried the tofu (after making sure it was fell drained) with the garlic and ginger. I also added asian noodles, red bell pepper, and onions. I used 4 tbs of curry, and maybe a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It was better but not fabulous. I think the mango pulp would be better in this recipe than sliced mango. Also, what exactly about this is Indian??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We really just weren't wild about this dish. It may just have something to do with personal tastes, but I don't think I'll be making this one again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States