Indian Hot Curried Mangos with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I followed the recipe word for word , and I thought it was kind of bland. The second time I fried the tofu (after making sure it was fell drained) with the garlic and ginger. I also added asian noodles, red bell pepper, and onions. I used 4 tbs of curry, and maybe a half teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It was better but not fabulous. I think the mango pulp would be better in this recipe than sliced mango. Also, what exactly about this is Indian??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
We make this every week it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This was okay. It was my first time making a curry dish. I like how the mangoes were incorporated in this dish and the contrasting tastes of the coconut milk and curry. However, it felt like something was missing. Needs more sodium, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This recipe was waaaaaaaayyyyy too hot , I couldn't taste the mango or any thing else for that matter. I used shrimp and asian noodles, next time I'll put a lot less curry and ginger, and add some vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nice, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Blah...I love a good curry but this had waaaayyyy to much ginger for me. All I could taste was ginger. I was hoping it would be better the second day, but it wasn't. Maybe I'll try again cut down on the ginger...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
We really just weren't wild about this dish. It may just have something to do with personal tastes, but I don't think I'll be making this one again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
Great taste, be sure to mix in the spices well. Mine got a bit clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Great recipe. Very adaptable. AND it enlightened me to the possibilities of the surprisingly versatile mango! Laura, maybe it depends on how you cooked the chicken. One thing that you could try, if you didn't already, is to cook the chicken first; remove to a platter and keep warm; cook your other ingrediants; add the chicken back in, add your sauce, etc. Then you should be okay. Again, great recipe, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I tried this recipe with chicken and vegetables and didn't quite get it right. The taste was great (a little too hot for me) but I overcooked the chicken and the veggies. Anyone have ideas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stony Brook, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I am so glad you guys like this recipe so much! It is good with just the tofu but you should really try shrimp or chicken as well. I like to just get the frozen shrimp in the bag. It's cheaper that way but it does take a little more time if you get the ones you have to peel. I think it's more than worth it! I have a few other recipes that have been submitted for a while now. I am hoping that they will eventually get published. Thanks again and enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elegant Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Curried Short Ribs and Cauliflower

See how to make curried beef short rib, American-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States