Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Loved this and it was very easy to prepare. The second time I made it I left our the tomato and was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This was just about the most amazing recipe we've tried!! Because my hubby is an Indian food wimp, we used half the cayenne and added 1/4 c coconut milk. We also added 1/4 c cashews, total (love our nuts ;-) and no salt. MAN, was this good. It was still *plenty* spicy and delish! Served with steamed broccoli and fresh rice. YUM!! no need for take away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was so tasty! I followed the recipe exactly, using cod I bought frozen, then thawed out. I used 1/2 tsp red pepper and it was still too spicy for my kids, so I baked some of the marinated fish without the sauce in a foil packet and they liked that. My husband and I loved it made according to the recipe. Next time I may cut the red pepper back more so the kids can eat it with the curry sauce, though I would miss the spice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
good flavor modified it a bit tripled the marinade for the fish and rather than garlic and onion used 1 very large purple onion 20 cashews doubled the coriander, cumin, and turmeric just sprinkled cayenne baked in oven without a cover. was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I only rated it 4 star because I veered off the recipe (I'm sure it's a five though if you follow exactly). I used Citrus & Habanero EVOO (from a specialty grocery) and cut out the cayenne completely because of that. I also didn't add the sugar to the "onion jam" - it was definitely sweet enough (but I use sweet onions all the time anyway). I doubled the amount of raw cashews as I like it a bit creamier. Topped my basa fillets with the mix, added to our plates a chili-spiced saag zipped up with some fresh lemon juice, a quinoa and brown basmati mix, and a cooling cucumber raita with mint. I also set out more raw cashew pieces for optional garnish and had fresh banana available to cut the heat for dessert. My husband is not a big fan of fish so I'm always looking for different ways to make it more interesting and yet gluten free for me. We both loved this recipe and will make it again as shown or with my own substitutions. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CanadjinEh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salmon Arm, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Delicious! Will definitely make again. I forgot the cilantro & it didn't matter. I didn't use the full amount of cayenne & it was still very spicy. I loved it! I don't know as the type of fish matters much. I may even try it with chicken thighs or tenders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was really really good!! It really is a spicy dish. I love spicy so I had no problem. My husband thought it was a bit too spicy so I will have to cut down next time for him. I have used Mahi Mahi and tilapia and both work. Usually I serve with Naan bread, jasmine or basmati rice, either white or coconut and some type of veggie, usually peas. I am so happy with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AwesomeChick81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and it has always turned out wonderfully. All my family loves it, even though they aren't big fans of Indian food. It is super spicy if you follow the recipe, so I use two tsp red curry powder instead, and it comes out great. I also usually use more cashews than the recipe calls for, five seems a bit pointless. I even make double batches now. Usually I put it over saffron rice or couscous. It is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Way too hot. Use 1/2 tsp cayenne next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I love this recipe. And...I just accidentally made it with squid instead of fish (ooooh, vacuum packed frozen sea creatures...you've done it again!) Anyways, it was actually just as delish as ever! I put 2.5 tsp of cayenne pepper, (because we love it hot!)...and I might have just overdone it a tush. Next time, I'm sticking with the recipe, exactly, because it doesn't need any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States