Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dmg2882
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Loved this recipe. It was initially challenging because I can't eat onions. I worked around this by using sliced mushrooms and a teaspoon of water in place of the onions. I also had 3 left over roasted fingerling potatoes I sliced up and added with the tomatoes. I used fresh rockfish caught locally by a friend for the fish. I spiced it as the recipe recommended and it was awesome. I put it over white rice. So yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
First, the only reason I rate this as a 3 star is heat. I cut the cayenne in half and it was still too hot for us. Will try again with 1/4 of cayenne. Second, am I missing something but where's the curry? It's one of the reasons I tried the recipe but didn't really realize that the curry recipe has no curry??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Wells

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Delish! I threw a diced zucchini and red pepper into the frying pan with the onion and spice mix to add some veggies. Also cut down the cayenne to one tsp but it was still too hot. Next time I'll go with half a tsp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My family love it great meal for Sunday Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT! UPDATE: Made this again only with pink salmon chunks this time and it was EVEN BETTER!!! I just LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Me: Wow, this is great. Just the right amount of heat! Other three guests: OUR FACES ARE MELTING OFF! WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO US??? I followed the instructions exactly, but cut the cayenne pepper in half. Still, face-melting ensued. Note: I live in the mid-Atlantic region. Yogurt is too spicy for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
We made this tonight as written except...halved the cayenne as many recommended but for our "3 thai chili to start" taste buds, 1 tsp cayenne wasn't enough so next time will try 1 1/2 tsp. and may end up with 2 tsp. as called for but otherwise, very yummy as is. Probably will add upwards of 1/4 c cashews and increase veggie broth to maintain texture with additional nuts as this sauce sauce is so yummy, really could double with 4 filets as you and your guests will all want more. Thx so much for sharing a great way to eat more fish! Oh and I used wild turbot filet as the mahi mahi I wanted was sold out at Whole Foods so really any mild white fish will substitute nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I love this. I had it with rice, fried banana, toasted pecan, and raw spinach on the side. The banana add a nice sweetness to an extremely spicy dish. The toasted pecan add crunchiness. I replaced coriander with cilantro bc I didn't have any coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
We like spicy and this was almost too much! I would decrease cayenne by a bit next time. I also substituted peanuts for the cashews due to tree nut allergies and they worked fine. Smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Very authentic curry. We like it hot so I used the spices as is. Hubby and I ate it all, LOL, but I used fairly thin cod. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States