Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Had a friend of ours over for dinner who is new to America (he was born and raised in India) and he said I was spot on with this, but to him it was fairly mild. For us it was pretty spicy though. I should note that I did not add the mustard. I marinated the fish in a turmeric/garlic paste with a little salt and pepper. (Food processor, few drops of water and oil and then blend) this was a tip my friend had given me when I told him what I planned to make for dinner. I also tossed in a can of green chilies and cut the cayenne pepper down to 1/2 a teaspoon. We absolutely LOVED this dish!! We served it over brown rice and finished it off completely. I can not WAIT to make this again!!! Thanks so much for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Lokerson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
The house smelled wonderful! I used mahi mahi fillets. Scared it would be too hot, I used 1/2 tsp cayenne and 1/2 tsp. madras curry powder. Served with rice and steamed spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DawnT77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Crazy good! We followed the recipe exactly and it was a perfect heat for us. Note: we generally order our food at medium spice level at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Awesome, even though I over-cooked the fish - I always do that :( I used Cod and subbed olive & vegetable oils for the canola. I only added about 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne, there was no way my son would be able to eat it as listed. I will definitely make this again, with a little more cashews in the paste and try not to overcook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We really enjoyed this for dinner last night. It was very flavorful, right amount of spice (I used 1 tsp. cayenne), and the fish was very moist. I used fresh-caught black tile fish, served with brown rice and steamed carrots. All of the different flavors came together very well. Instead of canned vegetable stock, I made my own using leftover shrimp shells, a few celery tops, and the stems of the fresh cilantro. I also added some curry powder to the spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
We loved this dish! I did cut back on the cayenne to about 1 1/12 tsp and it was still hot but delicious. Also added about 3/4 cup canned diced tomatoes b/c I did not have fresh. Served this with roasted cauliflower. If you like a very flavorful curry, this is the one for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
YUMMY. The dijon mustard combined with the indian spices really gave the fish a tangy complex flavor. I served it on a plain (no salt no flavoring) spinach saag and brown Basmati rice to absorb the rich flavor of the fish. This was my first attempt at making Indian food. Thanks for making it so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was execellent. Followed recipe and bake time. Restaurant quality - I will be making again but with cheaper fish - I bought Halibut and this would be equally good on red snapper. I also used the full amount of Cayenne pepper as I love hot food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Wow, this has a ton of flavor. I used only half the cayenne, and it was still spicy, especially with the first few bites, but it mellowed as I ate more. I'd add a bit more tomato; the acid helped balance the richness of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elysian27
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a good dish. My family loved it. Easy and fast to make with tons of flavor. I served it with Saffron rice, rosemary garlic potatoes and Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States