Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
We really enjoyed this for dinner last night. It was very flavorful, right amount of spice (I used 1 tsp. cayenne), and the fish was very moist. I used fresh-caught black tile fish, served with brown rice and steamed carrots. All of the different flavors came together very well. Instead of canned vegetable stock, I made my own using leftover shrimp shells, a few celery tops, and the stems of the fresh cilantro. I also added some curry powder to the spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlueHydrangea

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belmar, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elysian27
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was a good dish. My family loved it. Easy and fast to make with tons of flavor. I served it with Saffron rice, rosemary garlic potatoes and Naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elysian27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emory, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Martinville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Excellent recipe! Cut the cayenne to 1 tsp (hubby doesn't like too spicy) and added 1/2 tsp of curry and 1/2 tsp of garam masala. Perfect amount of heat. Served with quinoa and roasted asparagus. Great, healthy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
great recipe. i never added tumeric b/c i dont have it and I throw everything in the food processor instead of making in the pan. then I sautee onion and potato and add the sauce/ tomatos and fish. even my 2 yr old loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
I didn't use ginger root or cashews since I didn't have any. I also substituted olive oil for canola oil. This came out nice and spicy! It takes an incredible amount of spice for me to taste or feel the heat. Anyways I tasted the heat in this dish. It wasn't too spicy for me but I can imagine it might cause some panic attacks for those more sensitive to heat. I definitely will be cooking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This was outstanding and pretty easy. We used halibut which is so mild that it really needs some strong flavors to go with it. We will definitely make this again but with less cayenne (probably 1/2" tsp). I did double the cashews and cooked the onion longer so that they would be softer and a golden color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was execellent. Followed recipe and bake time. Restaurant quality - I will be making again but with cheaper fish - I bought Halibut and this would be equally good on red snapper. I also used the full amount of Cayenne pepper as I love hot food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Woy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Anselmo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Crazy good! We followed the recipe exactly and it was a perfect heat for us. Note: we generally order our food at medium spice level at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
this is the best fish recipe I have ever consumed! It's fantastic. I had 4 or 5 fillets so I doubled the dijon sauce for the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
i never made indian food before, i always thought it was difficult. this was delicious and easy to do. i dont have a food processor so i just grated the ginger, chopped the onion/garlic very finely and used cashew butter instead of whole cashews. beware, this recipe is very, very spicy. i usually order an 8 or 9 at an indian restaurant, and this fish was right up there. great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States