Indian Fish Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My family love it ????????great meal for Sunday Dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
My husband made this last night only he doubled all the ingredients for the sauce because we like things saucy and over rice. However, next time we will double everything except the cayenne pepper, we'll do 3 tsp. instead of 4. The flavor was excellent and just like a quality Indian restaurant but double the cayenne is a little too lip burning. We used mahi mahi because it is a mild meaty white fish. Next time I would like to try a pink salmon with this. We served this with basmati rice flavored with cardamom pods. Excellent dish and SUPER healthy, will be making this a LOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Me: Wow, this is great. Just the right amount of heat! Other three guests: OUR FACES ARE MELTING OFF! WHY DID YOU DO THIS TO US??? I followed the instructions exactly, but cut the cayenne pepper in half. Still, face-melting ensued. Note: I live in the mid-Atlantic region. Yogurt is too spicy for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
We made this tonight as written except...halved the cayenne as many recommended but for our "3 thai chili to start" taste buds, 1 tsp cayenne wasn't enough so next time will try 1 1/2 tsp. and may end up with 2 tsp. as called for but otherwise, very yummy as is. Probably will add upwards of 1/4 c cashews and increase veggie broth to maintain texture with additional nuts as this sauce sauce is so yummy, really could double with 4 filets as you and your guests will all want more. Thx so much for sharing a great way to eat more fish! Oh and I used wild turbot filet as the mahi mahi I wanted was sold out at Whole Foods so really any mild white fish will substitute nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
I love this. I had it with rice, fried banana, toasted pecan, and raw spinach on the side. The banana add a nice sweetness to an extremely spicy dish. The toasted pecan add crunchiness. I replaced coriander with cilantro bc I didn't have any coriander.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
We like spicy and this was almost too much! I would decrease cayenne by a bit next time. I also substituted peanuts for the cashews due to tree nut allergies and they worked fine. Smelled great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
Very authentic curry. We like it hot so I used the spices as is. Hubby and I ate it all, LOL, but I used fairly thin cod. Will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdeppel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Good, but no cayenne for us (kids and hubby wouldn't be able to hang with that). Decent flavor but fairly tame (no tanginess or zing). The smokiness of the turmeric, coriander, and cumin is well balanced with the salt, onions, garlic and cilantro. I didn't really notice the mustard at all. I added my own spice to my plate and I really liked it. The kids didn't really love it but hubby agreed that he would eat it again if served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
This was AN excellent recipe that my family raved about. I stuck to the recipe since I had never made anything like this before and the results were awesome. Can't wait to try it again and now looking forward to testing other Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Delicious! Very spicy but just right for my taste. However, I did take the advice of one reviewer and add 1 tsp of cayenne and 1 tsp of curry powder. ALSO, it is very important to let the tomato cook down after adding it and the broth. The writer does not note this but if you don't cook it long enough to reduce (which also requires increasing the heat for several minutes), it won't congeal and the spices will not permeate the sauce. This was fantastic over sautéed spinach and basmati rice. Overall, an excellent dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StacyB1012
Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Indian Shrimp Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy, Indian-inspired seafood curry.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States