Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is such an awesome dish. I loooooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Delicious! Just the right balance of spices. Serve with a yogurt or mint sauce and enjoy it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was excellent. I'm usually not very good at making spicy Indian dishes, 'cause I can never figure out the right combination of spices. But this turned out great and ohsospicy! :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
At first i passed on this recipe because i thought it would be too much work to broil and peel. Was I wrong!!! SUPER easy recipe. We had an indian night and this by far was our favorite dish. Perfect soft consistency. Pick 2 small eggplants instaed of a large one because it will be more tender and not have the bitter flavor some eggplants get when they're too big. Perfect spices, and the onions are amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This dish was a big hit. I added in curry powder instead of the cayenne pepper. My father usually doesn't like eggplant, but he helped himself to multiple servings of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The dish came out great. The only difference was that I used garlic paste and ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Spectular flavor but like many have said, the texture is a little strange. Still, I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This recipe is great! I have already made it numerous times and love it as does my family. I grilled the eggplant a couple of times and roasted it too; it comes out great both ways. I double the spices to give it a super kick, the spicier the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This dish was amazing! I added mushrooms, curry powder, and garlic and omitted the tomato, cayenne pepper, and cumin seeds because of my younger sister not liking spicy foods and lacking the ingredients. I, as well as my whole family, loved this dish! I will definitely make it again. I just can't express how delicious this dish was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balletalyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Very delicious! I mushed everything up when it was done. Also, I used an "Indian Eggplant" which was this long green eggplant (I found it at the market labeled as such). This was very good and my husband cleaned the pan after supper. This tasted very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabrielle in DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States