Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Good...I cut the eggplant in half and roasted it in the oven at 400 for 30 minutes. I also used a can of tomates with onion instead of the single tomato and ground ginger instead of fresh. Definatey low cal, but there is Baingan Bharta (Eggplant Curry) on this website that I think I better. Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This is such an awesome dish. I loooooved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
Delicious! Just the right balance of spices. Serve with a yogurt or mint sauce and enjoy it even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUNOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Very tasty - we put it over whole wheat couscous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was excellent. I'm usually not very good at making spicy Indian dishes, 'cause I can never figure out the right combination of spices. But this turned out great and ohsospicy! :) Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
Maybe I did something wrong. It just was not good. Most of it is still in my fridge, uneaten. :0(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
The taste of this dish is good, but the texture leaves a little to be desired. A better way to cook the eggplant is to slice it in 1" pieces, place the pieces on a paper towel, and lightly salt them. Leave them for at least a half hour (2 hours is ideal), then pat them dry. Cook them at about medium on the stove in some oil, stirring often, for about a half hour or until they lose most of their water and turn a darker color. The texture and taste of the eggplant really comes out this way. The rest of the recipe was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calabasas, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
The dish came out great. The only difference was that I used garlic paste and ginger paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
Spectular flavor but like many have said, the texture is a little strange. Still, I'd recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vladadeska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
this was tasty. i thought it tasted a little strange, so i decided to puree it in the blender since that is how i've had it at indian restaurants. i preferred it pureed. i served it with basmati rice. i thoguht the spice combinaiton was a little boring. very similar to 5 other curry recipes i have. i guess i was expecting something with a little different spice combination. i would probably make it again but i am still searching for something different. the more days it sat in the fridge, the spicier and more flavorful it became.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States