Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe. I recommend doubling the spices. Broiling the eggplant isn't hard and the flesh will easily come off. I served this dish over basalmic rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
this was wonderful and spicy. we added a spiced indian powder to it instead of the tumeric since we didn't have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I was worried about the texture, so instead of baking the eggplant and scooping out the flesh, I cut it into chuncks, then soaked in salt water overnight (my mother always does this with eggplants...I think it takes away some of the bitterness). The next day I drained the eggplant peices and placed them on paper towels briefly. Meanwhile, I heated olive oil in a skillet, then added the eggplant and continued with the rest of the recipe. I added 3 more cloves of garlic for flavor and bam! it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was wonderful! I needed to use my crockpot so after I broiled the eggplant I just threw the rest of the ingredients into the crock. I did saute the onions but I skipped the cumin seed roasting step, used two cans of stewed tomatoes, powdered ginger and added a handful of shredded chicken breast to fill it out a bit (the eggplant cooked down more than I'd anticipated). Anyway, it cooked on low for 4 hours and it was super delish with some rice in the rice cooker when we all came home hungry and tired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
The flavors were well balanced and the texture was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I'm not much of an eggplant fan but this was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was delicious! big breakthrough for me in my mission to figure out some vegetarian indian dishes. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Outstanding. I was out of tomatoes so I substituted 1 large roasted red pepper. I also used 1 med red onion julienned and 2 small fresh purple eggplants roasted not fried. I recommend letting the skin burn a bit, I also allowed the eggplant to cool and drain before dicing it up. I finished cooking it and my 14 year old daughter came floating into the kitchen with a euphoric look on her face (she's my most discerning taster), and said, "Dad, what is that smell....hmmmmmmmmmm." I said, "here, try it." (she claims to "Hate" eggplant). I gave her a fat forkful of this with a big chunk of eggplant and her face melted into bliss producing, after a few resonating moments a satisfied smile. I said, "what do you think?" She said, "it's amazing." I said, "thank you, I'm glad to see that you have an appreciation for eggplant." her mouth dropped and her eyes opened wide and she said,"are you serious? this is eggplant?" I said, "that's right kiddo, thank you for being open and willing." This was a big hit and is in my list of staple meals that we eat regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Really enjoyed this one. Made it with a side of basmati rice cooked with one can coconut milk. Definitely double this. I had myself and 5 dinner guests and with it being doubled it was not quite enough for six.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Delicious! I made this for the 1st time last night to bring to a curry party. Great reviews. I made mine spicier, but that is the way I like my curry. I have already emailed this recipe to others at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States