Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe to the letter... and it came out well. There is room to make one's own special improvisations which makes this recipe even better (IMO). i usually cut and salt my eggplant but i DID NOT do that here- as i stated- i followed this recipe as is and it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This dish didn't turn out as well as I've had in restaurants but I think it might be due to my error. I'll use a smaller onion and tomato next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA
Living In: Petaluma, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This was delicious! I diced the eggplant and cooked it in with everything else because I wanted it to have some bite, and I also upped the spices a tad. We loved it. Really great vegan dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Man, was this good! The only thing I changed is that I peeled the eggplant, salted mine (it was a little old) and grilled it to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I agree with Swandivr22's suggestion: cut the eggplant in pieces, salt it for a few hours to draw out the moisture, pat it dry and then slow saute. Whether you follow the original prep or do it this way, this eggplant is a winner - easy, savory, not overly spicy (although you can certainly make it that way - I love very hot food), and could win over people who don't think they like eggplant. I served it with red dal and spinach with mustard seed. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent! Used roma tomatoes and added a little water and lemon juice. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Loved this! Made a few changes (of course)! In addition to the onion and eggplant, I added 6oz broccoli florets, 1/2 bunch kale and used a can of petite diced tomato rather than fresh. I also used 1 tsp garam marsala and 1 tsp curry powder in addition to the spices called for in the recipe. Finally, I finished it off with a can of lite coconut milk and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
really delicious! I made this recipe with some grilled eggplant slices. I didn't have some of the ingredients (coriander seeds) so added a pinch of garam masala, used 3 cloves garlic. It is a good basic recipe that you can tweak easily. It seemed a bit dry so I added a little water and it was still nice and chunky. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Awesome. I also added some garam masala to the end product, after it was done, and just mixed it in (I eyeballed the amount, about 1 tsp). The only other change I would make (which I didn't do this time, but will certainly do next time, is add some coconut milk after getting the eggplant in there, and letting that simmer in to help out with the spicyness a bit. As It is, though, still awesome. It tastes very close to the old bengan bharta that I used to eat at this restaurant in town, until the restaurant closed :( I think they pureed their eggplant/tomato/onion together though, then added in the peas. Whatever the case, it's great! Thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I grilled the eggplant rather than cooking it under a broiler and had great result. This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States