Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Man, was this good! The only thing I changed is that I peeled the eggplant, salted mine (it was a little old) and grilled it to cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I agree with Swandivr22's suggestion: cut the eggplant in pieces, salt it for a few hours to draw out the moisture, pat it dry and then slow saute. Whether you follow the original prep or do it this way, this eggplant is a winner - easy, savory, not overly spicy (although you can certainly make it that way - I love very hot food), and could win over people who don't think they like eggplant. I served it with red dal and spinach with mustard seed. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Excellent! Used roma tomatoes and added a little water and lemon juice. My husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Loved this! Made a few changes (of course)! In addition to the onion and eggplant, I added 6oz broccoli florets, 1/2 bunch kale and used a can of petite diced tomato rather than fresh. I also used 1 tsp garam marsala and 1 tsp curry powder in addition to the spices called for in the recipe. Finally, I finished it off with a can of lite coconut milk and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elmcityboy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
really delicious! I made this recipe with some grilled eggplant slices. I didn't have some of the ingredients (coriander seeds) so added a pinch of garam masala, used 3 cloves garlic. It is a good basic recipe that you can tweak easily. It seemed a bit dry so I added a little water and it was still nice and chunky. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Awesome. I also added some garam masala to the end product, after it was done, and just mixed it in (I eyeballed the amount, about 1 tsp). The only other change I would make (which I didn't do this time, but will certainly do next time, is add some coconut milk after getting the eggplant in there, and letting that simmer in to help out with the spicyness a bit. As It is, though, still awesome. It tastes very close to the old bengan bharta that I used to eat at this restaurant in town, until the restaurant closed :( I think they pureed their eggplant/tomato/onion together though, then added in the peas. Whatever the case, it's great! Thank you!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I grilled the eggplant rather than cooking it under a broiler and had great result. This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
awesome recipe! This is a great dish to serve any vegan who are coming to dinner. I served the Bhurtha with garlic naan. I didn't have cayenne pepper so I added pepper flakes instead for a nice kick. I also didn't have the cumin seeds but it still came out Deelissshhhhh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I love Indian food but have always been a bit intimidated about cooking it. This was my first attempt and it was just as good as the take out I normally order. Not as time consuming as I had thought either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I'm not sure if I used too small of an eggplant or too big of an onion, but this tasted way more like onion to me than it did like eggplant. Also the picture makes it look more saucey, but this was pretty dry. The seasoning was good, but would have been better with more of a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States