Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Not very spicy. Grilled eggplant on grill for 18 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
I have made this twice, with excellent results. It's a very low-calorie, low-fat dish! I cooked the eggplant in the oven, per the original recipe, because I can do other things while it cooks. Also, a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes with liquid does well if you don't have a tomato handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
These were okay. It was quick and easy to cook. Just seemed like a basic indian dish using the same common spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was a good recipe, although I will make some changes for next time I try it. I didn't think the work of charbroiling the eggplant added any flavor. Next time I will cut the eggplant in cubes and pan fry it. I used garam marsala spices as suggested by other reviewers. I wasn't impressed by the flavor that the garam marsala added. Next time I will use the spices listed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eila

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I love recipes. I would just suggest to add green onions instead of regular onions. It gives it a great taste. I also did not add the cayenne pepper but instead added regular chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
We loved this dish! I made it as directed and by popular demand it is on our regular rotation now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
freakin' delicious! don't be afraid to use a very large eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Easy and delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great review. I recommend a few changes, however. First, I used a half a can of peeled, diced tomatoes with juice instead of fresh tomatoes. I also added curry powder (1/2 tsp) and garam masala (1/2 tsp). Next time I will add a half a cup of green peas. I also think it may be better to slow stew this over a few hours, so I'm going to try that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States