Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Definitely the easiest and most flavorful recipe i have made thus far -- i don't know how it tasted so good, it was so easy.. plus i could make this to keep as a pasta sauce, throw in some lemon juice and capers and it's heavenly on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Andrade

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Good flavor, easy (the eggplant just falls off of the skin), pretty healthy, enough for leftovers. I made it without the whole cumin and with canned tomatoes and it was lovely. Also used the peas, which added to the texture and were pretty against the red tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Amazing! Eggplant is something I stay away from at the super market because I haven't found an easy enough way to cook it. With this recipe, a brief broil and peel makes this dish a keeper. The seasonings can be tweaked a bit for flair and heat. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cow

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Tasty..could probably go heavier on the spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
When I first made this dish I thought it was ok but wasn't jazzed about it. My better half came home late so the dish sat in the fridge for a few hours. When I reheated the dish and served it with chappatis I found I liked it much more. He liked it as well. He thought the tomatoes made it quite good. Thanks to the author for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
My family loved it! I will be making it again, trying some of the suggestions from reviews like adding peas and green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Put a Bird on it

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Very tasty. Will make again. To make a more saucier dish, I added a few tablespoons of water when cooking the onions/tomato. Per a suggestion from another reviewer, I cut the eggplant into 1 inch pieces (with skin on), salted them and let them sit for a bit, before rinsing and baking at 350 for about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This tasted great! Due to evening time restrains, I actually cooked my eggplant in a slow cooker all day (NOTE: have to use a lot of water with eggplant as it soaks it up). This greatly reduced my cooking time at supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debb
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I left the eggplant peel on and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Bangain Bartha is one of my favorite Indian dishes and I tried to follow this as exactly as possible, although I cooked the eggplant on a hot grill rather than under the broiler in the oven. That said, I was very disappointed. The eggplant was stringy and nearly tasteless, even after I added additional seasoning, e.g., more salt and 1 tsp of garam masala. I finally added a Trader Joe's Punjabi Eggplant side dish and the final result was pretty good. Needless to say, I'll keep looking for an Indian eggplant recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States