Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I make this without the onion and tomatoes and its still so good! Tastes like something I would get at the Gudwara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladiesia
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great flavor, nicely spicy! Very easy to make. I'll definitely make this again, though I might not use as much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe today and it was very good and flavorful , i used Curry instead of turmeric and added some vinegar while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
While this was kinda good, I have definitley had better Indian eggplant recipe before. Where's the curry?? I served this over split whole wheat sandwich rounds instead of naan to save some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was quite good! I never broiled an eggplant before; it was very easy and turned out a great texture. Though next time I might use 2 eggplants or a larger one since I thought there could be more. The only modifications I made had to deal with quantities. Doubled all the spices and the ginger and garlic for my own taste. Ixnayed the cilantro since I don't like it. But all the flavors are there to begin with. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great recipe and quicker than salting the eggplant. If you aren't comfortable cooking with spices - this may not come out right the first time ** I highly recommend using fresh ingredients and spices to get the full flavor :) I used a red onion instead, and added a sliced serrano about two minutes before it was done, then set the flame on low and covered to add some spice throughout. Make sure to put spices directly onto the hot oiled pan before folding it into the rest of the dish to bring out the flavor. Covering the dish at the very end on a low flame will help moisten the dish if it's too dry and eggplant isn't reducing (see more about this below) About the eggplant - I put the oven on 375 for 30 min. and was a little impatient and didn't wait for the skin to blister, albeit it was very easy to get the meat out (will use a higher temp next time) - easy solution is to cut the eggplant in long slices when cooking and at the very end cover with flame on low and smash everything down once it's nice and soft. **If this didn't come out right for you with the level of spice - I recommend practicing with everyday dishes. Breakfast eggs and potatoes are my guinea pig with Indian spices and ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
we love indian food so this totally worked for us.. didn't broil the eggplant.. cubed and left the skin on and roasted in the oven at 400 for half an hour.. followed the recipe after that.. only had ground cumin, no seeds so i skipped that step.. didn't feel it needed the cilantro.. bf agrees that this dish stands on it's own.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wonderful each time I make it. I almost double the seasonings and the hubby loves, loves, loves it. Picky child on the other hand says its too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pilot Mountain, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Super easy to make and absolutely delicious! I used olive oil instead and added a cup of peas. I didn't bother peeling or de-seeding the tomato, just chopped it up and turned out great! SO is not a fan of indian food but loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I was very happy with this recipe. My boyfriend was very impressed when I made it for him. I saved the recipe and I would definitely make it again sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States