Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I've been making this recipe since I first found it some time ago. It's delicious as written. Today I wanted to make it but didn't have any fresh tomato's so I used a can of diced tomato's with their juice. Still delicious. I always add a small dollop of sour cream to each bowl before serving and a couple of drops of lime juice. Thank you so much, Simmig, for one of my favourite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Seriously, I was convinced this was a disaster until the moment I tasted it; had a great spice & legitimately tasted like an Indian eggplant dish (please excuse my ignorance. I grew up in an area with a large Indian & Pakistani population & have always loved their food, but have never been good with names of dishes outside of the basics).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Fontasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
This recipe is absolutely fabulous! I always double, because there is never enough. Better then in most Indian restaurants in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
So tasty! It was so much eaiser than I thought I was going to be, to cook the eggplant- the skin peels right off! The flavor was great, not too spicy but enough of all the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Very happy. I've tried other Bhurtha recipes which were more complicated and yielded bland results. This was a simple recipe, very flavourful with a hint of spiciness left on the tongue. I added frozen peas as the recipe hint suggested. I also substituted cumin powder for seeds because I couldn't find any. And used leek instead of onion simply because I don't like onions. Also, I didn't bother peeling the tomato. I already plan on making it again for company. This was delicious eaten with naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by met_atm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
The only way I like eggplant is in Bhurtha - I got an eggplant in my vegetable share, so tried this recipe. It was easy and delicious! My first time cooking eggplant and I loved it! Followed the recipe pretty religiously - but used a white eggplant since that is what I had handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Simply delicious. Very tasteful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
There are a lot of supposed eggplant haters in my house, so when I made this, I didn't let anyone know what was in it until they tried it. Everyone loved it and all said "can't even taste the eggplant". I made some small changes, I grilled the eggplant (to avoid putting the oven on), added a jalapeno pepper that I had on hand (and we like a lot of heat) and a pinch of garam masala (it just needed a little something more at the end). I served it over some basmati rice with raita sauce. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Kind of bland, which is weird because of all the spices in it...had to add more salt and pepper, eggplant was easy to do that way but wasn't able to cube them it was just mush which I'm not sure what way it was supposed to be
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Made this just like the recipe says and I love it! Have made it twice. My 8 year old son loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States