Indian Eggplant - Bhurtha Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Very spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Made it without spice as the children were eating it. Even without this the taste was amazing. I can only imagine it gets better with some kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My wife and I live near Seattle and once tried a surprisingly good hole-in-the-wall indian place near pike. And they had pretty good eggplant Bhurtha there. But I couldn't but think I could cook a better recipe myself at home. And this recipe made that possible. One of my all time favorites. 10/10 would eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cbolte
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome served over cauliflower rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I make this without the onion and tomatoes and its still so good! Tastes like something I would get at the Gudwara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladiesia
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Great flavor, nicely spicy! Very easy to make. I'll definitely make this again, though I might not use as much cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe today and it was very good and flavorful , i used Curry instead of turmeric and added some vinegar while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
While this was kinda good, I have definitley had better Indian eggplant recipe before. Where's the curry?? I served this over split whole wheat sandwich rounds instead of naan to save some calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This was quite good! I never broiled an eggplant before; it was very easy and turned out a great texture. Though next time I might use 2 eggplants or a larger one since I thought there could be more. The only modifications I made had to deal with quantities. Doubled all the spices and the ginger and garlic for my own taste. Ixnayed the cilantro since I don't like it. But all the flavors are there to begin with. Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Great recipe and quicker than salting the eggplant. If you aren't comfortable cooking with spices - this may not come out right the first time ** I highly recommend using fresh ingredients and spices to get the full flavor :) I used a red onion instead, and added a sliced serrano about two minutes before it was done, then set the flame on low and covered to add some spice throughout. Make sure to put spices directly onto the hot oiled pan before folding it into the rest of the dish to bring out the flavor. Covering the dish at the very end on a low flame will help moisten the dish if it's too dry and eggplant isn't reducing (see more about this below) About the eggplant - I put the oven on 375 for 30 min. and was a little impatient and didn't wait for the skin to blister, albeit it was very easy to get the meat out (will use a higher temp next time) - easy solution is to cut the eggplant in long slices when cooking and at the very end cover with flame on low and smash everything down once it's nice and soft. **If this didn't come out right for you with the level of spice - I recommend practicing with everyday dishes. Breakfast eggs and potatoes are my guinea pig with Indian spices and ingredients ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States