Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Just a tad bit soupier than I expected, but very good flavors. Next time, I'll cut back on the water a bit. It was quite filling too. Hubby went back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I'm always looking to save time, so I skipped the soaking step, and didn't bother chopping the spinach. The dish turned out very well and was huge. We ate this for three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is an easy to make, wonderful recipe with great flavor! I used chicken broth instead of water. I made the mistake of adding salt on top of this so I would recommend using broth and then omitting the salt. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Looks good. A bit of change in cooking. After butter melts add mustard seeds first. Let tem pop then add cumin seeds,let them brown, then add onins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Just like what my friend from Kerala makes. I added some coriander powder,ginger powder and 2 teaspoons of curry paste. I also put it in a chicken broth base. But used the coconut milk very authentic. I like the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was yummy. :) Added a few tablespoons of plain yogurt to make it a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Fantastic recipe that even the carnivores loved! The spices need tweaking though- I had to increase them because it was a otherwise a little bland. What really made a difference though was a bit of lemon juice... Once these alterations were made I vowed to make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I found the original recipe quite bland so I doctored it up. I used more salt and chili powder than called for and subbed plain yogurt for the coconut milk. I also added a few various spices at random to give it more taste (and I am now kicking myself for not keeping track of what I was adding!). I scaled it to 4 servings but it made a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Just tried this recipe tonight and it was delicious! Like previous users, I added a bit more spices to the dish by eyeballing it more or less. As well, I left out the coconut milk. Great to freeze and great to make if you're in a hurry for something nutritious and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
We thought this was okay. I have bags of lentils in my cupboard and I was trying to find something other than the lentil-soup standard. I followed the recipe, doubling the spices as suggested, while omitting the coconut milk because I was out. I felt the lentils were undercooked (even with a long time on the stove warming until hubby came home) and the flavor was just lacking. Maybe it was just a need for more salt, I'm not sure, but with as much cumin and chili powder as I put in, you'd think it would be more "wow". Anyway, we didn't hate it, but we didn't love it either. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in IL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States