Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
this is a tasty, mild dahl. made with variations that many others mentioned. -- used veggie broth in place of water. -- doubled all spices. -- added 1/2 tsp. yellow curry. wish i had -- doubled the fresh spinach. i like about equal parts lentils to spinach. with the current recipe there is not enough spinach for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
delicious! i used this recipe for my first attempt at dahl. i used half red lentils and half split yellow peas. i also didn't have any chili powder, mustard seed, or coconut milk; but added yogurt like another reviewer suggested. it was splended! and it made the house smell so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Just a tad bit soupier than I expected, but very good flavors. Next time, I'll cut back on the water a bit. It was quite filling too. Hubby went back for seconds. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I'm always looking to save time, so I skipped the soaking step, and didn't bother chopping the spinach. The dish turned out very well and was huge. We ate this for three days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This is an easy to make, wonderful recipe with great flavor! I used chicken broth instead of water. I made the mistake of adding salt on top of this so I would recommend using broth and then omitting the salt. Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Looks good. A bit of change in cooking. After butter melts add mustard seeds first. Let tem pop then add cumin seeds,let them brown, then add onins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kinni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Living In: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Just like what my friend from Kerala makes. I added some coriander powder,ginger powder and 2 teaspoons of curry paste. I also put it in a chicken broth base. But used the coconut milk very authentic. I like the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Litchfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
This was yummy. :) Added a few tablespoons of plain yogurt to make it a bit creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Fantastic recipe that even the carnivores loved! The spices need tweaking though- I had to increase them because it was a otherwise a little bland. What really made a difference though was a bit of lemon juice... Once these alterations were made I vowed to make it regularly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I found the original recipe quite bland so I doctored it up. I used more salt and chili powder than called for and subbed plain yogurt for the coconut milk. I also added a few various spices at random to give it more taste (and I am now kicking myself for not keeping track of what I was adding!). I scaled it to 4 servings but it made a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States