Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I had to add more turmeric, salt and chili powder, but what a fabulous dish! I don't generally like cooked spinach unless it's just wilted with some bacon, olive oil and pine nuts, but this dish was so good I had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mistress Nicci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Very good, quick and extremy well liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
this is a nice dahl. I used extra salt like the other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
YUM! Tastes so much like the daal at my favorite Indian restaurant. Will be making again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
well-seasoned lentils, warmed our bellies and palates surprisingly quick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seattle Dad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
You do need to cook gently all the spices in oil first - to make it easier on sensitive tummies. Then add the onions, etc. This method also makes the end result more aromatic. Certainly dahl spinach soup is soul warming on a cold day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Great spice flavors and simplicity in preparation. I used 1.5 tsp salt and yogurt for the end. Highly satisfied family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adamkukuk
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, except I can't have chili powder so I omitted that. I actually felt the spice level and salt to be good as written. It is missing a zip. I am not sure what I did wrong. I used the coconut milk you purchase in the refrigerator section, so I don't know if it would have turned out better with the canned coconut milk. The yogurt idea is fabulous but I also can't have dairy (I am a walking food disaster-- hard to find recipes!) It is not bad, just missing a zip in my opinion. Maybe I'll try adding some fresh squeezed lemon before serving?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pocatello, Idaho, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
This is very good. However, for my preferance the lentils need to cook about 10 - 15 min. longer than what recipe calls for. I add a tad more indian chili powder than what it calls for. I also like my Dahls to have a tomato base sometimes, so next time I make it I will also try adding tomato paste. I have made this several times and have played around with the amount of spices. my husband loves it 2 of my kids won't touch it (too spicy) and my other son will eat it he just adds plain yogurt to it if the spices get to hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kingsburg, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States