Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great dahl. Easy to make. I added to the finishing (onion and spices) 2 cloves of garlic and a whole grated tomato (discard skin). Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this dahl recipe with collards instead of spinach, added red pepper flakes because I like my dahl spicy and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 olive oil instead of only butter-- it turned out deliciously. I paired it with brown rice. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
My hubbie and friends love it, I use split pea becuase I don't have red lentil and still it taste so good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I love the flavor of this dish!! It's not much to look at, but it's delicious. The balance of spices is perfect (though I add a bit less chili powder than called for so my 1.5-year-old can enjoy it more). I've found that using split red lentils requires less than the full amount of water called for, or else it's too watery (maybe 2.5 cups instead of 3.5). Yum! My mouth is watering just thinking of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Great recipe. I added chicken broth and was glad I did. Otherwise I would have added salt. Delicious. Simple and authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This was surprisingly bland. I'm new to cooking Indian food, but the other dishes I know are spicy. This has an okay flavor but zero kick. We made it better by adding salt at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This was a yummy meal on a cold snowy day. I didn't have turmeric or mustard seed so I used a bit extra garam masala, chili powder and cumin. I mixed in about a cup of rice and served with naan. Yum! Will definitely try to have the other spices on hand next time, too snowy to go out tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I added chickpeas and edamame to this recipe to make it more filling...amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was absolutely fabulous. I did not have mustard seed so I used ground mustard. I took the hint from another reviewer and carmelized the onions, and I added the garam masala to the onions and let it cook in, and I added just a little more for punch. The yogurt was a nice addition. Did not use the milk. Ate it alone but will probably serve over brown rice. This is the best Dahl I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I really liked this served with Jasmine Rice. I read the other reviews after I tasted it and realized it was a little bland. I added a lot more salt to satisfy my taste but I generally do not need much salt to satisfy my taste. I doubled the Garam Masala and the chili powder. Next time I will use the suggestion of the other reviews and double all the spices and use vegetable broth in place of the water. It smelled good cooking. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lavonne_tobias

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States