Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I love cooking Indian food and this is by far one of the best recipes, with a few alternations, that I have encountered in a long time. In the end, the texture, taste and look of the dish are spot on. My changes are in keeping with those previously discussed. For the lentils I boiled and simmered them using part water, part vegetable broth. Next, no turmeric? No problem! I used 1-1/2 tsp curry powder. Like others, I, too, doubled the salt. As for the spinach, I didn't have any and so used some Taylor Farm's packaged organic baby kale I had in the fridge. For the onions I started cooking them the same time as the lentils and let the mustard seeds begin to pop before adding the onions and cumin (1-1/2 tsp), adding just a little extra flavor. All around it's a fantastic dish! With the changes, a 5-star recipe. It's one I'll use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Delicious, except definitely heat the whole mustard seeds in the butter first, and make them pop. They're extremely bitter if you bite down on them in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I really like this dish. Spinach tastes yummy in red lentils. I added small amounts of chopped fresh garlic and ginger. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marykevinaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geezboyz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
We really enjoyed this. I only had about 1 cup of lentils and a 9oz. bag of baby spinach, so that's what I used. I added enough water to cover the lentils by about 1 inch, and then added 1 cube of vegetable bouillon to the water, as recommended by others. I followed the recipe for everything else. This had nice Indian flavors, and we served ours over rice. A nice, healthy, meatless meal. Hubs loved it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
We love Indian food and are always trying new recipies. I love various dahls and this one is an easy winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&D'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I gave this 4 stars as I followed a lot of the other reviews to make it more flavoursome. I used 2 cups of vegetable stock to cook the lentils and the rest water. I didn't add the salt as the stock was salty enough for me. Frozen spinach defrosted worked well. I doubled the spices and also toasted the garam masala with the onion to bring out the flavour more. I didn't find it spicy and would up the chilli next time maybe add a fresh chilli with the onion. I added 2 cloves of garlic with the onion as well. I didn't add the coconut milk either but ate it with raita (plain yoghurt with chopped up cucumber and lemon juice) and basmati rice. Makes a lot and makes you feel good that you're eating something so good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
This is a good start but I found it very bland, and I would say it makes a lot more than four servings. I would either increase the spices or halve the lentils and spinach. Also, the small amount of coconut milk makes no discernible difference and I would just as soon eat it with a spoonful of yogurt, rather than have half a can of coconut milk sitting around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This recipe was bland. Next time I would double the spices, and perhaps cook the lentils in broth or with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States