Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe is delicious, even without spinach. The coconut milk really adds something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This was very good--creamy and flavorful, a nice comfort food. I followed other reviewers' suggestions and used vegetable broth instead of water, but I didn't double the spices because I wanted to try it as is first (although I did double the salt). We both thought the flavor was good, but my boyfriend, who's taken an Indian cooking class, thought it could use more spices, so next time I'll bump them up. Instead of butter, I used unrefined coconut oil that I picked up at a great Indian market. Most coconut oils (especially refined ones) don't really have a flavor, but this one has a smoky hint that was delicious with the dahl. With the current E. coli scare, I couldn't find fresh spinach anywhere, so I used escarole, which has a similar texture when cooked. I can't wait to try it with spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
My family loved these lentils. I did substitute part heavy cream and plain yogurt instead of the coconut milk. I also used vegetable broth instead of water as others suggested. I had to cook the lentils longer than the recipe suggested so I added more water. I will definitely make them again with the Indian Style Basmati Rice also on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
delicous! very easy to make, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled all the spices, used 1 tbsp olive oil instead of butter, reduced the water to 3 cups, and left out the coconut milk. I also used frozen chopped spinach instead of fresh. As I totally forgot to rinse and soak the lentils, I actually needed to add more water and cook for a lot longer. It turned out really well after all the alterations and we had it for dinner with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
this recipe is great but it does need modification. i followed others advice and carmalized the onions for 20 minutes. i used chicken stock instead of veggie and a bit more salt. next time i plan to use 3/4 of a pound of spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIZZLEMEAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was a cooking disaster for me. I used slightly thawed frozen spinach. I had to add more spices to compensate for the extra water that comes in frozen spinach. Even then I couldn't save the dish as I had to cook the dahl longer until it turned like pea soup. I'll try fresh spinach next time and change my review appropriately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Oh my goodness! I took the other's suggestions and doubled all the spices. I only had canned spinach so I drained that and it was fabulous! My dh that doesn't like Indian food had 3 helpings of this with the Indian spiced basmati and the naan recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I have had 3 bowls of this! This is incredible and one would swear it came from an Indian restuarant. I had Masoor Dal (split red lentils) which cuts down on the cooking time. Only had frozen spinach and added 1 package. Did not have coconut milk so added a handful of unsweetened coconut and then stirred in a heaping tbsp. yogurt at the end. The blend of spices is incredible! The only addition of spice I used was 1/2 tsp. curry powder but kept all the other spices and measurements the same. Didn't do lentils in seperate pan. Just added them to the onion/garlic/mustard seed saute. Used 'roasted garlic chicken broth' in lieu of water. About half way thru I added spices and then spinach at the end. I had a bowl without the spinach and that was equally as good. I'd prepare this again and again even if I didn't have spinach. Served over Basmati rice that I dressed up with some whole cloves, onion flakes, green peas, and safrin. A+++ thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I would actually give this 3.5 stars. It's good. A very average (not less) and tasty recipe that I'm sure I'll make again. I agree that spices should be kicked up, and I also added a yellow curry powder, which gives it a rich taste that I really like. Healthy and easy. Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States