Indian Dahl with Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
We had this for dinner. Everyone in the family loved it. I followed some of the other conmments and I added the spinich at the end of the cooking for the onions, otherwise, I followed the recipe as is. We will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I've made this recipe several times so far, and it has consistently been easy and delicious! I use quick-cooking red lentils from Trader Joes, which are split in half and cook in only 12 minutes. I only use one pot to make the recipe, which makes clean-up easier. My steps are: (1) heat up oil or butter in a pot and then let the mustard seeds pop in the oil to release the flavor, (2) saute onions (I also add minced ginger and garlic here), (3) add lentils and water and cook till soft, and (4) add spices, spinach, and coconut milk. I use a full 14 oz. can of light coconut milk, which helps to balance out the flavors. The type of chili powder I use is made from Kashmiri chilies, but I think I've also made this recipe using standard chili powder (the kind commonly available in American grocery stores) with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
So I don't really cook other than American country type food. I read about turmeric so I needed a recipe and I randomly chose this not expecting to like it at all. Bought all the ingredients read the comments so I added 2 cups chicken broth and 1 1/2 cup water. I tasted it before adding the last part, garam masala, and was freaking out because it was all kinds of delicious! Then I added the garam masala and coconut milk and wish I hadn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle porter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
No need to be afraid of cooking Indian food with this recipe! This is a great base recipe for dahl. It made a huge quantity and I just finished off the last of it on day 4. It got better every day! I followed the directions pretty closely but substituted Sharwood's Curry Powder for the spices. Next time I will try the suggestions for increasing spices as it was not especially spicy, but the lentils and spinach had a great flavor together on their own. I also think I'll skip the coconut milk and add a little plain yogurt, which I always have on hand. Also, I used whole red lentils and it was a bit runny, so we're going to call it soup in the future. The family loved it and this will go into heavy rotation over the fall and winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I have made this recipe quite a few times, at least once to twice a month. It tastes very good. I've made a few adjustments, as using twice the amount of spices recipe calls for and adding a little fresh ginger and cardamom. It's also very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
A great healthy and very filling meal! It's not quite what I would call authentic, I found I had to double the heat with chillis, cumin and coriander.I also used chicken broth instead of water, and a pinch of cinnimon to add more depth. All in all, this is a great little recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by l_simpson82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I used baby turnips greens (fresh out of garden) instead of spinach, still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I added a bit of curry and some extra salt but still felt like it needed more flavor. Maybe more curry or non-mild chili powder...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I have made this a couple times and I love it. I toast the mustard and cumin (seeds, not ground) and substitute coconut oil for the butter. I also add cayenne for kick, and additional garam masala to taste - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by llmcc
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Healthy but tasted better a day later with added jar of homemade salsa, sriracha, and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States