Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Well it tasted pretty good. My 3 rating is not for the flavor of the food but for the actual recipe. I cooked it for 30 minutes and not close. 10 more minutes and the barley was still hard (and still simmering). One hour and I gave up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I toned down the spices a bit to meet the palates of the whole family, including young kids: used 1/8 tsp allspice, 1/4 tsp turmeric, and 1/8 tsp curry powder. Also chose not to add the dried fruit as the kids balk at that in cooked dishes so used what I had on hand: finely diced up some carrot and kale. This was delicious - I had to restrain myself from eating more when I was already full. Was also good left over. I served it with Maple Salmon and the pairing was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Just superb. Nice flavours, good mix. Added more raisins and added toasted sliced almonds just before serving. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Doubled all the spices and could probably use more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Tastes great! I made it exactly as written, then added more of the spices until I liked it, which means a bit more salt, and a full extra tsp of curry. Fantastic savory side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glowiie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We absolutely loved this recipe! We did make a few changes based on previous reviews because we love spice. Instead of 1/4 teaspoon of curry we added five 1/8 teaspoons of curry spices using Penzey's hot curry, sweet curry, Vindaloo, Garam Masala and Tandoory spice and doubled both the allspice and turmeric. It was a great accompaniment to a roast chicken on a cold, blustery Saturday night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth Steele Walker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I've done this with lentils when I didn't have barley. Excellent. I also doubled the curry and garlic as we like it a bit spicier! But great basic recipe to jump off from. Any beans or coarse grains work, even a combo. I use the pressure cooker. I bet a slow cooker would work as well! THank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I doubled the spices as somebody suggested and also doubled the butter. This came out so good! So I give it four stars for a good stars; Update the recipe with the above improvements and it's certainly a five-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Woolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
I followed the other reviewers advice and doubled the spices, used olive oil instead of butter and added peas and carrots. It was delicious. My husband raved about it and I've added it to our dinner rotation. Wonderful served with Indian Butter Chicken recipe on Allrecipes. Only giving it a 4 due to changes that had to be made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States