Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this because I LOVE barley, and it did not disappoint. I changed the raisins and almonds to peas and carrots because I had just had a bad experience with both (kidney stone anyone???) and we need our veggies! I added 1/2 cup more chicken broth to help cook the carrots and added more curry per other reviews. Also used oil instead of butter. Fantastic taste - I really like the subtle allspice flavor. Ate this with some tilapia - DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
This looked great, but we found it disappointing - bland and boring. If you do make it, double the spices. You can also cut the butter to 2 tsp. oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
excellent and so simple! Afraid that it wouldn't be enough curry flavor,so I added one tsp. Perfect. Also didn't have pearl barley and pot barley worked great. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Absolutely delicious! I did, however make a few changes that I learned from the comments of other cooks on here (THANK YOU)! To start with, I used a 1/8 cup more butter, added garlic, carrots and lentils to the onions as they sauteed and more chicken stock than the recipe called for, probably about a cup more to help cook the lentils and carrots. I left out the raisins and almonds. I also added a cup of coconut milk and MORE THAN DOUBLED all of the spices. I used it as a main dish with some naan bread and raita and it was SO hearty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saunch09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Doubled the curry, halved the allspice, cut out almonds and raisins. Used regular barley so it took a bit longer to cook but it was well worth it. This was the first time I had attempted to make anything using barley and I am kicking myself that I haven't tried it earlier. Tender, flavorful, this makes and excellent side for the savory chicken broccoli I made for dinner. Just what I needed. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
With a few changes, I loved it!! Sauteed everything in olive oil; doubled the curry - could even take more. I'm not crazy about raisins and BF doesn't like almonds so I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added lentils - perfect with the spices! I also meant to add toasted pine nuts for a bit of a crunch but I forgot... next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious! I doubled the amount of curry, but otherwise this had the perfect combination of spices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
What is old is new again! I just got a pressure cooker--now completely safe with 3 safeguards--they don't blow up, no matter how hard you try! The cooking time is at least halved for most things. Some recipe cook times are cut by ten! This particular recipe can be done in 18 minutes! I am no longer spending my Sundays cooking. Bean soups, risottos, pilafs and even meatloaf with potatoes all in 10-20 minutes. Consider the fuel and electicity you'll save. Huge. No longer do I consider that I don't have time to cook barley, for example. It has revolutionized my cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Made this with non-fat/low sodium broth, doubled the curry powder, used a smidge over the 1/2 tsp. salt (kosher) and ground pepper. It was absolutely delish and so easy to prepare! WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohiosoup
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this recipe almost to the T, which I never do, and I regretted it. There was very little flavor and the barley was undercooked. I had to cook it much longer than the recipe predicted as well. This wasn't a disaster as I was cooking to eat it later, but could have been. This needs a lot more spices to get to tasting anything like indian. I also added some diced chicken to make it hold up as a meal in itself. After I did this, added more liquid, and cooked it a bit more I ended up with something I liked. I love this concept though, and will try to come up with a recipe myself that does what I wish this one did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States