Indian Curried Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
My whole family loved it! I added 1 full tsp of curry powder like the other reviewers plus a cinnamon stick, extra cumin and termeric. I omitted the almonds and raisins and replaced with peas and carrots. I served it with rotisserie chicken the first night and sprinkled it on a salad the next day. Made me feel good to feed my family this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I had barley in my pantry already and it was as easy as steaming rice. Really tasty, and a very hearty side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cherricocoa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
With a few changes, I loved it!! Sauteed everything in olive oil; doubled the curry - could even take more. I'm not crazy about raisins and BF doesn't like almonds so I took the suggestion of another reviewer and added lentils - perfect with the spices! I also meant to add toasted pine nuts for a bit of a crunch but I forgot... next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this recipe almost to the T, which I never do, and I regretted it. There was very little flavor and the barley was undercooked. I had to cook it much longer than the recipe predicted as well. This wasn't a disaster as I was cooking to eat it later, but could have been. This needs a lot more spices to get to tasting anything like indian. I also added some diced chicken to make it hold up as a meal in itself. After I did this, added more liquid, and cooked it a bit more I ended up with something I liked. I love this concept though, and will try to come up with a recipe myself that does what I wish this one did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
My boyfriend and I both loved this. However, I followed others' advice and double all of the spices. I didn't have any raisins and forgot to top it with the almonds and it was still delicious. I think it would be really bland without doubling the spices, but totally worth it if you do. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
this was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
5 stars for the ease and simplicity and HEALTHFULNESS! I used quick cooking barley and it turned out great, if a bit soft, and added some finely chopped carrots and grilled chicken. I agree fully with increasing the spices, but this is great food that comes together with minimal effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Good alternative to rice! I added fresh hot pepper for some heat as well as coconut milk. I also doubled the curry as suggested. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by squarepear
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I was so excited to try this because I LOVE barley, and it did not disappoint. I changed the raisins and almonds to peas and carrots because I had just had a bad experience with both (kidney stone anyone???) and we need our veggies! I added 1/2 cup more chicken broth to help cook the carrots and added more curry per other reviews. Also used oil instead of butter. Fantastic taste - I really like the subtle allspice flavor. Ate this with some tilapia - DELISH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squarepear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ingalls, Indiana, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I omitted the butter, salt and almonds. I subbed homemade vegetable broth for the chicken broth. It smelled so good while cooking! This is a delicious dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States