Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
My fiance is from India and we make a similar recipe on a regular basis. You don't need to add cornstarch to thicken the sauce. After the chick peas are softened, use a potato masher and mash them a little bit. Don't mash them all, just mash them so some get smushed. This will thicken the sauce naturally. Just let it simmer for a few minutes and it will thicken right up. I also add 1 tsp. garam masala, 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin, 2tsp. salt, and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). You can also use 1 tsp. of coriander if you like. Garnish with fresh cilantro when serving. We always use red onions and the tomatoes should be diced, not quartered like in the picture with the recipe. I love this recipe. It is really healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
243 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ginniej

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! We can't get enough of it! I was really excited to find an accessible indian recipe. I didn't have channa masala so I only used garam. Also, I used helpful suggestions from gnip. I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This is very easy and tasty. I used 1 tsp. of garam masala because I couldn't find the other spice listed. Enjoyed it with naan with mango chuntey and almonds, indian-style cauliflower, indian-style eggplant, and indian-style okra (all from this site.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This is a very good "channa masala". I cook the dish a lot longer (until the liquid reduces almost completely and the chick peas are very soft). This just takes more like my favorite Indian restaurants do it. I love Indian food and I am always trying to cook it at home. This is the first success I have had. Some day I will have to get lessons from someone who grew up cooking Indian. Until then, I will have this recipe as one of my staples. Thanks for the delicious and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Loved it! I always make a few changes to recipes: increased the amount of masalas a bit to my taste, used red onion, 2 roma tomatoes (squeezed of seeds). I added a dash of half n half at the end, after the simmer. Will accompany my curry dishes from now on! Very healthy side option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This was fantastic and VERY easy. I skipped the channa masala in favor of what I had on hand; used mustard seeds, tumeric and corriander. It is a tasty curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sunflower1
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This was pretty good. I would recommend adding more garam masala though to give a more indian taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Flavour was better for leftovers as it had time to soak into the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
Nice favor without being over powering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
great recipe, i added a little cornstarch to thicken the sauce. i will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States