Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
A Nice and healthy dish, very easy to make . Did it with only the haram masala since did not have the other. Wll definitely make it again, and serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I made this alongside of curried chicken last night. I have to admit I followed the advice of others and added some additional spices (coriander, cayenne). I also accidently increased the onion to a whole cup. I absolutely loved this dish and the leftovers were even better. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
i loved this, my husband less so, but his only criticism was that it had too many chickpeas in it...so take from that what you will! the flavour was lovely, and mashing up a few of the chickpeas thickened the sauce beautifully. I served this as an accompaniment to Saag Paneer (Spinach and Cheese Curd) with homemade naan bread---it was terrific! thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This is one of the best Indian dishes I've tasted! I did not have channa masala so used other reviewers suggestions of 1 tsp. garam masala, 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin, 2tsp. salt, 1 tsp. coriander and 1/4 tsp. cayenne. I also mashed some of the peas to thicken but it took twice the recommended cooking time to boil down. Next time I'll use 1c water instead of 1-1/2. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is very tasty and healthy. I only give it four stars as is, but five if you make the changes suggested by ginniej - It tastes better and no need to go to a specialty store for a spice mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Very good, I have been making this a long time, minus the ginger. I add a sliced sweet red bell pepper to the onions and put only about 1/2 cup water (cuz I like it a little drier, it is so good with grilled fish!). It is not mandatory to use those spices either, you can use about 1/2 teaspoon each of cumin and a little curry powder and a dash of cinnamon. People are more likely to have those spices at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Excellent. Replaced about 1 cup of coconut milk for the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great recipe...but I made some changes: I cooked much longer, and pureed about 1/4 to give a more gravy-like texture common to this dish in India. Also, I add a 1/4 or so teaspoon of tamarind paste (if you have it) to give a bit darker color and for taste. I added several squirts of lemon, and a bit of cayenne pepper; also added fresh coriander at the end. Great if you serve with Jeera Rice - which is just rice cooked normally but you add in a couple of teaspoons of cumin seeds as you start to cook the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
My husband and I loved this!! We can't get enough of it! I was really excited to find an accessible indian recipe. I didn't have channa masala so I only used garam. Also, I used helpful suggestions from gnip. I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States